Skip to content

Mom’s 50th Birthday Party…

April 28, 2011

This past weekend we all celebrated my Mom’s 50th birthday!

Let’s back track… I guess I have had my mom’s birthday in my head for a while since I have been living at home. So a lot of planning came to me, which is all good because I would like to think I’m good at stuff like this.

My mom knew she wanted a party so it wasn’t a surprise but once she picked the location and the date I went with it from there. Since her birthday fell on Easter this year the party was the day before. We used cute little evites in place of real invitations due to the time we had allowed our selves (and cost, let’s be honest!):

I would have loved something a bit brighter but this was the best Martini-esque Evite they had that was still age appropriate.

Then I took to shopping and prepping a bunch of fun pictures for the party:

I made those top two collages ( you know I love a photo collage) with Picasa and they show the top grossing movies the year she was born and other famous celebrities born her year. I went crazy at the party store because my mom said no “black” she wasn’t sad about turning 50 so colors were good. I took that and ran with it.

The other piles you see were pictures of my mom through her 50 years – it was so hard to edit these. I wanted it to be pretty even, show each of us three kids, show her with her parents, different sets of friends, funny hair styles, and big memories. I also had the hardest time finding too many from trips she has taken recently since she does so many mission trips – very few pictures have HER in them.

The pictures all went on three tri-fold boards that I was dumb enough to place behind the food. Pretty in my head and for pictures, but caused people to hover there and lead to a traffic jam. oops!

The party was held at a cute private bar towards the beach here in town, The Dirty Martini. Mom loves Martini’s on special occasions and after being inside one time she knew she wanted her party there.

One of my favorite pieces of the party were her cupcakes!! I ordered them after finding a coupon on line and was so excited with how they turned out:

We used Pleasure Island Cupcakes; They were red velvet with a cream cheese frosting and tiny little fondant olives. So cute!

Once everything was set up we got our cocktails and greeted guests!

My mom had a lot of fun with her friends and yes I made her wear that party hat.

Pardon how few pictures I am , but I guess I was either at the bar, talking or taking the pictures! And Yes, I am that short compared to my siblings.

Albie and I were the last of our party to leave right before they opened the bar back up to their members.

We all had a great time and my mom turned 50 the best way you can – with friends and family toasting to you!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2011 5:12 pm

    How sweet of you to throw your mom a birthday party! It came out really cute and it looks like she was so happy!

  2. April 28, 2011 5:35 pm

    How sweet of you to throw your mom at Birthday party. Looks like everyone had a great time!

  3. April 29, 2011 11:13 am

    Thank you for the party and the photos, it was a fun night! Having all three of my kids in one place made me the happiest!!

  4. May 3, 2011 10:29 am

    What a cute party! The cupcakes look delish! And I love the photo boards – that’s one of my favorite decorations from milestone birthdays – a look at the past howevermany years.

  5. May 3, 2011 3:17 pm

    I think you are the best daughter to throw your mom such a wonderful party!! I love the picture collage ideas–so cute! It looks like your mom had a wonderful time!! :)

Trackbacks

  1. Easter Weekend… « Oui, Bien Sur!

Leave a Reply

