Skip to content

Mint Julep Jubilee…

May 14, 2011

One of the things that would be on my bucket list would be to go to the Kentucky Derby. I just love watching and I love the hats and I especially love all the drinking that occurs!

This year I didn’t quiet get to Chuchill Downs but I did get to go to Wilmington’s best derby party! My mom got us tickets to go to the Mint Julep Jubilee.

I feel like I didn’t take as many pictures as I should have. I ran into an old friends from high school there and I swore we had our picture taken a few times by people but I can’t find any on line! The event it’s self was smaller this year then last year according to my mom but it’s still a great time.

They have silent auctions, big TVs to watch the race on and, of course, cocktails! I only had one mint julep since bourbon is more Albie’s speed but lucky for me there was a wine station with a bench nearby :)

Watching the derby with people is so fun. Everyone screams and cheers on their favorite horse. I think at our party Pants on Fire was the favorite since the jockey was a woman. I on the other hand was thrilled that a horse with a Disney name (Animal Kingdom is clearly Disney related) won.

Y’all… please look at my hat. I love my hat. I want to wear my hat everyday. Even Finley likes my hat.

I got it from Marley Lilly and why yes, that IS my monogram! I love how big it is and I loved that while I wore it I didn’t worry if my hair look flat once! (Score!)

This is am embarrassingly close picture of me in my hat but drunk-katie (my wine induced alter ego) wanted me to show it to y’all.

Please pardon the flat curls and cardigan, it was clearly the end of the evening! Just to contrast, here’s the beginning of the afternoon:

Don’t mind the fact that I am in my mom’s bathroom to get better lighting or the fact that I am kneeling on a stool to show the full ensemble. Isn’t my dress cute?! …. Brace your selves… it’s from… TARGET!  My point here is that wine + being outdoors = windblown close ups that make my nose look gigantic. Such is life. I really just wanted to show off my new hat!

Have any of y’all even been to the Derby? Anyone else goiong to be rocking a hat this summer?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2011 9:29 am

    LOVE THAT HAT!! (I am a sucker for anything with a monogram!) I am not a big fan of horses, but I’d go to the Derby for the hat-watching alone!

  2. May 16, 2011 11:21 am

    The hat is SO cute! I love it! :)

  3. May 17, 2011 2:37 pm

    Love your hat – so precious! I’ve never been to the Derby, but I can’t wait to go one day! In the meantime, wonderful Derby parties with delicious mint juleps will just have to suffice!

Leave a Reply

