Skip to content

8 Weeks Later…

May 15, 2011
tags: , ,

Eight weeks is how long I have been a Wilmington resident. That means this week I’ll have been at my job for about 2 months.

I think I thought that I would feel more settled or at least know what was in the future by this point. I don’t. And I hate that feeling.

The best way I can describe the feeling is like I am in limbo. Like our lives are waiting on things that are out of our control.  We need Albie to get a job and we need to get the house sold before I can look for a new house and before we can circle a date on the calendar as THE END, and at the same time THE BEGINNING.

But things are good overall.

Albie is getting to visit a whole lot thanks to being able to work remotely, which I love. We are able to try to find a new balance and figure out how things will be once we both live here. Finley loves when he’s down and mopes like crazy the day he leaves.

Finley and I got a new room, we moved from this:

To this:

Better right? This was actually my room when I was little, then my sister moved in and I moved up stairs (lots of room hopping went on in our house apparently). My sister made this room like her dorm while she still lived here so it needed some major work. My mom got new carpets and had the walls painted and I bought new bedding. I moved in on Thursday officially and it’s great! Finley still is slightly confused but has no complaints since we aren’t sharing a twin bed any more.

Work for me is good. I was slightly bored at the beginning but I think that was mostly due to the fact that my position had been empty for a few months so people had figured things out without it. The environment here is also much more laid back. It’s very “whenever you get to this” vs having the head football coach stand at your desk starring at you until you can produce something out of thin air. Much more laid back. I enjoy this aspect a lot.

The people here at my new job are beyond nice. Like if I am out for any reason they “miss me” and people tell me “good job”… it’s odd. I miss having things to gossip about and more importantly I miss my old work friends who I used to gossip with.

My old job has moved on with out me and I wont say it doesn’t hurt my feelings. I think we all feel like we aren’t easily replaceable in certain aspects of life, especially ones that we pour a lot of our selves into. It’s no fun to realize that they can in fact move on, and they will move on in such a drastic direction from you that it hurts a little.  But like I said, it’s really the people I am missing more then the job. They can keep those weekend hours for the new guy.

Bottom line is that things are good. We’re just playing the waiting game. I am thankful that the house is having a lot interest and I am happy that Albie has promising applications and resumes floating around. The next steps would be offers and interviews.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2011 11:19 am

    I’m so glad you have a new room–it looks more much relaxing! I can’t wait to see the post 8 weeks from now–I know big things will happen for you and Albie! :)

  2. May 18, 2011 11:48 am

    I am glad that you have such an upbeat attitude towards everything, and I hope you and your husband can be reunited soon! But I am glad you are liking your new job, that’s what is important!

Trackbacks

  1. Long Distance Update… « Oui, Bien Sur!

Leave a Reply

