Skip to content

Crafty Katie…..

June 15, 2011

Since joining Pinterest I can’t help but be super inspired, jealous, and overall just impressed with the things people can CREATE. I have always been a big fan of Etsy for gifts since I really like the idea of buying handmade goods for people. I like the thought and time that went into it, it just feels so much more personal.

The catch here is that I  am not crafty.  I want to be. I want to be crafty so bad that a couple times a year I bust out some paint  my glue gun and just “craft” things. I paint whatever’s near by or whatever inspires me in a quick walk through of Michaels. It’s dangerous really. I mean I’ve painted wine glasses, picture frames, a tin can I found (this was last week) and I have tried to make purses out of place mats (I know, this sounds weird) and then every Christmas I try to get cute and make things too.

I think maybe my issue with crafting has always been that I don’t have a clear idea of what I am trying to make, or sometimes I am just crafting because I want to, not for a direct purpose.

Enter in my life my Pinterest board for DIY Projects. I am obsessed. I pin everything even remotely cute or fun that I think “ooo I could totally do that!” So I wanted to show you some of my favorites:

  • Reupholster a Chair! I always see good furniture with unfortunate fabric and think “It can’t be that hard….” so I was pumped when I came across  this one. Again it just seems ridiculously hard to me but when it’s photographed the way it is it suddenly looks very doable:

  • Map Picture Frame! This one I want to do so bad. This even has the added bonus of possibly being cheap. Imagine framing one picture from a vacation and using a map from that location as the boarder. You could even do a whole gallery wall of vacation pictures this way:

  • Jewelery Organizer! How simple is this?? This also inspires me to run out and buy more necklaces, so maybe this isn’t one I’ll be trying:

  • Idea Jars! I have been wanting to do this idea for a while for Albie and I. I think this idea is perfect for bored kids in the summer or for adults stuck in a routine. I want to specifically make one of these for “Restaurant Ideas”:

  • Chevron tray! How simple and cute is this?? I saw this a while back and printed it (Here is the tutorial) out then got addicted to Pinterest so I went back to find it because no DIY dream board is complete without this. I can just picture it on a coffee table or use it to carry condiments on if you’re eating outside. You could even make a couple so that they fit with different times of the year around the house?! I need to calm down, this one has me all excited:

 

  • Wreaths! Albie is probably cringing right now. He doesn’t see the need or appeal in wreaths. But I like them, in moderation and only in the right spots. With that said, I want to make every single one of these:

Top Row: Balloons, Corks, an Ornaments

Bottom Row: Sea Shells and Drink Umbrellas

  • Coasters! Last but not least this is a project I really do for see becoming  a summer project. I even think if I got good at it I could make them for hostess gifts or as last minute gifts around the holidays:

What are some of y’alls favorite DIY projects? If you try any of these please tell me – I am dying to know if the instructions are any good and what the final product looks like!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2011 7:11 pm

    Oh goodness, I am sensing some serious Michaels trips in our future! I love doing stuff like this….but I have the artistic abilities of an 8 year old who’s slow so easy projects are best. Those map picture frames are so cute!

  2. June 15, 2011 9:33 pm

    Really wishing we lived close still. I could spread my crafty gene to you and we could do projects together!!!

  3. June 16, 2011 12:04 pm

    I so want to do the map picture frame, too!!! I love the idea!

  4. June 16, 2011 1:24 pm

    If you get a work space with a compressed air system throughout like that guy in the upholstery photo, then I’ll buy you the needle gun and you can upholster to your hearts content. In between when I’m using the air system to work on the cars of course.

  5. June 19, 2011 1:23 pm

    LOVE this. Great pinterest finds. I really like those coasters.

  6. June 27, 2011 5:04 pm

    I love those ideas!! I think a gallery wall of those frames would be so so amazing!! AND–I am going to make a jar of restaurants to eat at tonight!! Such a great find!

  7. Jenny D permalink
    August 19, 2011 10:56 am

    I’ve made wreathes multiple times for myself & gifts; its fun and relatively cheap. The only real problem is when you get to Michaels/Joanne’s (which has better flowery things) you end up spending ALOT on the flower bunches and then don’t always use them…altho many of them that I’ve bought for wreathes have become arrangements in vases.
    P.S. Reupholstering a chair is NOT that easy! LOL

Leave a Reply

