Skip to content

Shows Well….

June 24, 2011

It shows well….

This is how people describe my house in their feedback after looking at it.  It normally starts with “It shows really well….”, or “It shows beautifully….” And without a doubt it’s always followed by a “but”.

“It shows well but buyer is looking for a single family home.”
“It shows beautifully but buyers were looking for a 3 bedroom.”
“It shows really well but buyer wants a garage.”
“It shows well but buyer can’t figure out how her dining room table will fit.”

It’s almost become a joke because at this point I am wondering if people look at the MLS listing before visiting. (If you need a refresher on what my house looks like you can visit these posts. To keep it real though, it’s a town home, with 2 bedrooms and no garage.)

The house was getting a ton of showings for a while, a couple a week, but then something just kind of stopped. We went 3 weeks without a single showing and finally had one this week. I was excited but I think I am also starting to be more realistic. I love my house but I’m starting to see not everyone does.

It’s kinda sad to love a house and then get feedback on all the ways people don’t love it.

But I know it will sell eventually and I’m confident that someone will over stuff the built in wine rack the same way I did or will use the gas fireplace every night until they get their first gas bill. I love this house and I know someone else will too.

But more importantly then updating y’all on the not-selling of our house I wanted to make sure I wasn’t portraying rainbows and puppy kisses over here on the ol’ blog.

I wanted to make sure that I am doing more then just showing y’all that everything is going “well”.

Sometimes stuff sucks. The house is on the market in a terrible housing economy and my husband is looking for a job down here in a terrible job economy. He visits a lot and I’m lucky to see him all that I do but that doesn’t mean this is awesome. That doesn’t mean I don’t annoyed, angry and sad sometimes.

So keep sending your good vibes and maybe soon I’ll be able to report that someone’s feedback on seeing the house is “It shows so well that we’ll send an offer today!”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2011 10:18 am

    Yuck, I am so sorry, I am sure it is stressful to have your house on the market and want it to sell quickly so you can be reunited with your husband. Listen, I don’t know anything about real estate, but my Mom and Dad recently sold their home and it went on a “showing slump.” My Mom freaked out an demanded that they lower the price – which my Dad and the realator were against – but they immediately got 5 showings, 2 bids, and they bid against each other back up to my parents asking price. Crazy, huh? I am sure it wouldn’t work for everybody but its a thought!

  2. June 24, 2011 5:24 pm

    Good vibes coming your way!!!

    • Katie permalink*
      June 27, 2011 11:21 am

      Thanks for the good vibes! I’m pretty sure I feel them all the way down here in Wilmington! :)

  3. June 25, 2011 2:59 pm

    I am so so sorry. I can’t imagine how stressful this all has to be for you. I hope you find a buyer soon!

  4. June 26, 2011 8:18 pm

    I have all my fingers and toes crossed for you guys!! Hang in there, it only takes one person to like it in order to sell!

  5. June 27, 2011 5:00 pm

    I’m so sorry it’s been such a long process! I think your house is so cute–I know someone will find it and love it soon! :)

Leave a Reply

