Skip to content

Staging Pictures…

July 1, 2011

In the process of selling the house and moving one of us to a new city we really got a chance to pair down our “personal stuff” throughout the house. We are lucky enough to have a large space to store most of our seasonal clothes, holiday decorations, movies, tailgating stuff, and personal items that makes the house way more empty and much more “staged.”

Before this move was even an idea I have always loved the Staging shows and pictures of houses that have been “staged.” I just think it makes the biggest difference to a buyer whether they realize it or not.

I know that one of the key steps to staging your house is to take down EVERYTHING that is personal to you. To make things very neutral yet inviting. People want to imagine themselves living in your house, not see how you live in it.

This has by far been one of things (other than price) that I have been struggling with the most. It took me months to get pictures in just the right spot and to pick matching frames for a cohesive but not matchy look. And now I am supposed to take them all down and put them in a box for who knows how long?? Um, no thank you.

We made our first move and emptied out closets, shelves, under beds, in cabinets, in drawers, storage space and the attic. It’s empty. The house still looks like a couple lives in it and loves it but there is about 50% less stuff. But the surface still looks pretty much the same. Less of it, but the same.

So this leads me to some recent feedback we got on things we can do while we wait for our buyer to come visit. (See, I’m trying to be optimistic!) We were told that maybe all the engagement, wedding and bridal pictures I have up are making single or newly divorced people uncomfortable. At first I thought this was ridiculous but I guess I can see the point.

But to avoid the whole process of spackling holes in the wall and painting where pictures used to be I’ve decided to just fill the existing wedding frames with other art.

I have some 5 x7 frames in the bedroom and some 8 x 10 frames in the office/ second bedroom. I have my giant Canvas Bridal portrait at the top of the stairs and then I have our signed matted guest book/ picture at our entry way.

I think I want to find beachy/ naturey/ arty pictures to print my self to fill the frames.  So far I’ve come up with these:

{Free Printable Art via HERE}

{Images via HERE}

{Free Printable via HERE}

{ Image via HERE}

I am clearly just starting my search and hopefully will be able to pull off some quick fill ins over my wedding pictures. I may need to buck up and actually BUY something for my giant Portrait spot but so far I’m not thinking this is a terrible quick fix. Anyone else done this? Anyone else have good printable resources that I keep getting ideas from too?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lindsey permalink
    July 1, 2011 11:57 am

    Cute photos! And I get where the thought is coming from for the single/ divorced people. I have a friend that is newly divorced and the strangest things (that most people wouldn’t even notice) irritate her enough to ruin her day!

    Good luck with the house selling!!!

  2. July 8, 2011 10:02 am

    every now and then I’ve stumbled across some nifty prints and pictures at Michael’s, A.C. Moore and Old Time Pottery that have been nice little place holders. That may be a fairly inexpensive way to fill the bridal canvas spot,

  3. Tiffany permalink
    July 8, 2011 4:07 pm

    I haven’t had to sell a house yet, but I can imagine this would be VERY hard for me! I am such a picture person and love things feeling homey to me, so it would be hard to cover everything. Best of luck in selling your house!! I’m sure everything your doing will pay off big time!

Trackbacks

  1. Staging Pictures Part 2… « Oui, Bien Sur!

Leave a Reply

