Skip to content

Rants and Raves…

July 11, 2011
tags: , , ,

My friend Jenny started a new blog, Rants and Raves of  a White Woman. She’s new into blogging but I love her format so today I am borrowing it to get me back in to the swing of blogging.

  • Rant of the day: Tourists!

Went to the beach only two times this past week. Saturday was great, no traffic and very few people. It was low tide and there were awesome shells to find after some much needed rain storms came through.

Sunday was the opposite. It was hot, crowded and high tide. When it’s high tide I feel like the beach is about the size of a postage stamp and all those out of towners are stuck together sharing the same ocean and sandy spot.  The irritations I have are magnified and unfortunately make beach time a whole lot less relaxing.

I’m talking about water shoes, radios, cigarettes, floating rafts in the ocean, beach chairs claiming entirely too much real estate, running children, throwing sand, and worse…. FEEDING THE BIRDS. Don’t get me started on slow drivers, bad parking, and loud talkers.

I love living at the beach, but this weekend made me wish I had my own personal beach.

Side Note: Don’t get me wrong, I am a MEGA tourist when I travel. Camera attached to my face at all times, buying t-shirts and pointing at pretty things. So this is just my rant for the day.

  • Rave of the day: Old TV Shows!

Since we don’t have cable at our Raleigh house and we don’t have any kind of DVR at the Wilmington house, we find our selves with time to finally watch together and nothing to watch. So enter Netlfix!

We’ve always had it for movies and we’ve gotten discs of things like Dexter, 30 Rock, Modern Family and Mad Men before but now we are straight up obsessed. And by we, I mean me. I have gotten HOOKED into Nip/Tuck, The Tudors, and Weeds.

When I say hooked, I mean the reason there was no blogging this weekend is because I watched the entire first season of Nip/Tuck.

What other shows should I be watching? At this pace I’ll have cleaned out my queue before the house sells!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2011 5:10 pm

    Yeah, as much as I love to be a tourist, I hate when they get in my way in Chi-town! Total double standard! :)

  2. Megan permalink
    July 11, 2011 5:22 pm

    I was all about some Nip/Tuck!!! First 3 seasons were awesome! After that, not so great, until the last season when I feel like the writers started caring again. Isn’t Christian dreamy? <3

  3. July 11, 2011 8:51 pm

    Thanks for the blog love!!! I’m sure you’re my blog’s biggest fan. You guys need to watch Arrested Development.

Leave a Reply

