Skip to content

Social Networking…

July 13, 2011

I’m feeling overwhelmed. I feel like I am getting sucked into a million different social networking sites and I’m getting confused as to what to post where and who cares.

So far there is:

And recently…


I’m not even 100% sure on how to use the newest site. It’s still in its Beta, I have invites to pass out if you want one.

When I googled “Social Networking” and tried to even figure out if there is an easy way to merge all my log-ins or even just make it so posting from one goes to the other and my friends are interchangeable among each site I am discovered that I am not “hip” to even half of the sites out there.

As someone who would rather put information on my blog and call it a day for communicating with old friends now I’m totally stuck as to what to do with all these friends, followers and circles.

I mean where do you categorize work people (if you even allow work people to see any of this social networking crap). Are blog/ twitter friends like  real friends that you only know via the internet? What about old roommates who you’re really just still friends with on line because you’re nosey? Family members – what should be they be “allowed” to see?

Then there’s that added drama of  “did you see what so-and-so put on facebook??”  “oh no, that girl did NOT unfollow me just because I said I don’t like country music.” In college this drama was fine, even to be expected, but now? No thank you.

I am friends with ONE person at my new job on facebook and no one else can even find me via search. My twitter is private and yeah, I do screen who I let follow. I rarely update my facebook anymore because I think I am friends with more friends’ parents then friends themselves.

So where does that leave me? Do I cancel them, avoid joining new sites, stay private and never update?  This isn’t really a “privacy issue” for me, it’s more like where-to-draw-the-line?

So tell me, where and how do y’all draw the line?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2011 11:04 am

    I am the same way! The added drama part is too funny and too true. As for facebook, I have basically stayed on to see my friends pictures. I do occasionally post status updates and pictures, but I have a set “friends list” of about 30 people who can see this stuff. Basically if I talk to you regularly (by choice) and/or we’re actually legitimately friends or family, you’re on the “friend list”. Sounds weird but I just don’t want some creeper from HS knowing how I spend my time. As for work people – never. You can’t search for me and I don’t have my blog addy on fbook. If someone finds my blog its likely that they found it through another similar blog, so you’re connected through common interests rather than common acquaintances. Wow – do I sound like a paranoid freak or what? ha!

  2. July 13, 2011 11:25 am

    That is actually what I’m loving about Google+…it’s social networking without the drama. YOU have complete control over who you follow, what gets posted publicly, what gets posted just to close friends, and less “stalking”. Honestly, I’m hoping Google+ takes off so that I can finally delete my FB :) I’ve wanted to for so long, but it’s currently the only way I can keep in touch with a lot of friends.

    In college, FB was the “cool” thing to do, but now as I’m “older”, I’m realizing that social networking is more about the networking. Like Alyssa said in her comment, people want to read blogs based on common interests rather than just being acquainted with someone. By having common interests, we can then “socially” interact with one another. So…networking first, then the social aspect comes second.

  3. July 13, 2011 1:33 pm

    I just got invited to Google+ yesterday and I have no idea what the heck it really is and when I’d use it. Of course I accepted the invite though. Lol!

  4. July 13, 2011 6:26 pm

    Oh my goodness I so know what you mean by the question of drawing the line. My mother in law is my friend on facebook and it’s almost enough to make me wanna delete strictly to avoid the nosey questions about my friends in my photos. I think you’ve got a good handle on it; a private twitter and the inability for people to just find you on facebook.

Leave a Reply

