Skip to content

Basil Love Affair…

July 25, 2011

This summer I have been entirely having a love affair with basil.

It started back in March when I wanted to make one of my favorite recipes and went to wal-mart to buy my groceries (this is a glimpse into the new budgeted Katie) and found that I could buy a tiny pack of fresh basil for $2 or I could buy an entire basil plant for $2. I went for the plant.

And so far it has paid off in a major way!

I am not a super green-thumb type of person but I like watching stuff grow and I am a big fan of adding this fresh ingredient to my meals!


It’s not super large and it likes to wind it’s way to find the sun. I water it in the morning while I watch Finley have his breakfast before I even put in my contacts. It’s probably the only way I remember.

I have picked this plant until it’s practically naked yet it keeps making new baby leaves and keeps growing. I love it.

My all time favorite basil recipe is Pioneer Women’s Grilled Chicken with Lemon Basil Pasta. I could eat this stuff once a week for realz. Other basil-y things I have been eating have been recipes that are not mine. My friend Jenny wont toot her own horn on her cooking but the girl makes some gooooood pasta and gets me eating new-ish things which she should get an award for. So far this summer she’s made me some pesto and then her cute “Summer Formal Bow ties”. Her Bow Tie pasta recipe was so fresh and light it was basically pasta, basil, tomatoes, mozzarella, and chicken with some sort of yummy sauce/ dressing. (I’ll edit this post if I can get the recipe from her.)

What are y’alls favorite basil recipes? Have you had any luck with growing your own herbs?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2011 4:00 pm

    Thanks for sharing this. You have such a wonderful blog. I enjoy reading your posts very much.

    Please feel free to check out and share my recipes.

  2. July 25, 2011 8:37 pm

    I’m so jealous of your basil! I tried to grow it inside last year and it just died. Maybe I didn’t water it enough.

  3. July 26, 2011 8:54 am

    I am loving basil right now too – but the plants in the garden are still itty bitty. Summer pestos and caprese salads are my favorite ways to use it!

Leave a Reply

