Skip to content

Single Behavior…

July 31, 2011
tags:

So it’s a Sunday evening and normally I am feeling very “married” right now. When Albie and I lived together all the time Sundays were days for laundry and grocery shopping. In  the summer I’d sneak off to the pool for a few hours and Albie would get some key video game playing in.

Nowadays we’re trying to soak up the last few minutes of the weekend and ignore the fact that we have work and lives separate from each other all week. Now we save our groceries, meal planning, laundry and tidying up for week nights when we’re apart.

Obviously, this leads me to how I spend my single time. It’s my secret single behavior (I mention some SSB here too):

  • I talk to my dog. Like, expect-him-to-answer kind of talking.
  • I watch old tv shows I’ve seen on netflix and hulu. Old Glee and Mad Men anyone?
  • I eat awful meals. Last few weeks I have had cheese and crackers for dinner or my favorite night I ate those tiny sweet sixteen doughnuts for dinner.
  • I enjoy my wine. I am even known to have been  a bad influence on others and their wine intake.
  • I am in bed by 9:30 most nights.
  • I  go tot he beach by self and spend most of my time looking for a specific kind of seashell.
  • I clean my purse out weekly.
  • I paint my nails about 3 times a week. Same color every time.
  • As soon as I come home I change out of my work clothes and put on my yoga-pants/ t-shirt. If I don’t change right away then I dressed entirely too comfortable for work!
  • I eat Oreo’s in bed.
  • I play solitaire on my phone and my computer. If it doesn’t look like I’m winning then I press start a new game almost right away.

What are some of your single behaviors?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Megan permalink
    August 1, 2011 7:48 am

    all of the above :) isn’t it great?!

  2. August 1, 2011 10:10 am

    I eat chocolate and make quick/lame meals and watch bad TV. It’s bliss!

  3. August 1, 2011 4:17 pm

    Oh my gosh….I love this! And I’m going to “amen and amen” the eating awful food! Before Dave I never ate “real meals”. Popcorn and a diet coke, a cheese toast, cereal, a bowl of ice cream…all are acceptable meals in my book. Dave…not-so-much. homeboy needs a full meal! And TV…oh, don’t even get me started. :)

  4. August 1, 2011 5:38 pm

    He hates when I eat in bed. Hands down my SSB getting up, making a latte at home and then climbing back in bed with something yummy to eat like a bagel and cream cheese and surfing the internet while watching whatever I want for hours. It is pure bliss.

  5. August 2, 2011 3:31 pm

    I love this post! I do so many of the same things! I’ll have cookie dough for dinner and mac and cheese for breakfast. I’ll read trashy celebrity gossip magazines for hours. I’ll dance around the house in my pj’s singing to the dogs. :) Love it!

  6. August 3, 2011 11:43 am

    I watch so much crappy tv when Rob isn’t around! (Currently I’m watching Millionaire Matchmaker :) ) I love your Secret Single Behavior even though I hate that you have to have it!

  7. August 3, 2011 6:23 pm

    I totally eat cereal for dinner when I’m by myself!

Trackbacks

  1. A Single-Married Girl’s Favorite Things… « Oui, Bien Sur!

Leave a Reply

