Skip to content

True Life: I’m a Fluff Blogger…

August 5, 2011

Today I am linking up with Mrs. Monologues and Fabulous but Evil  for a little True Life:

It’s true that all bloggers fit into a category. Are you trying to keep a journal of some sorts, blogging about being a mom for the first time, tracking your work outs, showcasing your favorite outfits? And of course, are you blogging because you were at one time bored, liked reading other people’s and liked commenting so started one of your own? No? Just me?

My blog’s two-year anniversary is rounding the corner and while my frequency in posting fluctuates on the weather and how good my latest book is I’m still basically the same.

My first post was essentially a “had one, lost it, starting over” kind of post with no real introduction. It took me a couple of months before I jazzed up the name a bit and making a bit more of an intro in a formal post.  Of course I have the needed “who the heck are you” tab at the top {also here} but sometimes I think I forget that people don’t know me from one fluffy blogger to the next.

So to re-introduce my self in a way, I am Katie. I am married with a dog I love too much  in a time of transition. I’ve got a new (but old to me) city, a new job and a room at my Mom’s house. Just what every 26 year old newly-ish wed wants right?

My husband is still holding down the fort at our cute house in the city where he still works. So after 10 + years of dating and 2 years of marriage we’re having to do the having to do the long distance thing.

This brings me back to the “fluffy part” – I blog here because I enjoy it. I like having a place for my pictures and my thoughts and love meeting fellow bloggers. Yet at the same time I have to stop my self from actually revealing too much. So you, my loyal readers, tend to get the fluffy stuff.

You get the “What are your budget tips” question without me really divulging into my own personal financial issues too much. You get the idea that I’m living at home again without an actual post about how I feel about that since Mom reads too (Hi Mom!).

This is the internet, this is open to everyone and therefore you get fluff. I throw in other fun things like travel recaps, wants, opinions, pictures, recent loves and link to other favorite bloggers but for the most part you’re getting surface, fluffy Katie.

A post that Mrs. Monologues did recently made me laugh a lot since it made sense to me. She basically defined the types of bloggers out there and fluffy was one. Another day she asked about a blogger’s “persona” and again it made me smile because it’s true. My fluffiness is my persona- I am not cussing on here as much as I do in normal life. I can’t gossip on here because 1) that’s kinda rude and 2) you wouldn’t care. I can’t really drink wine with you and you can’t hear the funny voices I make up for people when I’m intimating them that don’t actually match them at all. I blog about real recipes that require ingredients instead of owning up to how many times I eat cheese and crackers for dinner.

But it’s me and apparently you like it or else you wouldn’t keep coming back right? (Don’t answer that if that’s not true.)

What kind of blogger are you? Is your persona really you or just a fluffy version of you?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2011 9:27 pm

    love everything about this post. you are fabulous, and i don’t know why I didn’t know that you are your husband were doing the long distance thing. Your strength amazes me!

  2. August 5, 2011 9:29 pm

    nothing wrong with fluff, girl! we all can be a little fluffy at times! :)

  3. August 5, 2011 11:30 pm

    i’m definitely a little more fluffy…i hear you on not cussing as much as i do in real life. my family from my hometown reads my blog. :/

  4. August 17, 2011 3:22 pm

    Absolutely fluffy! The internet definitely only sees the good things I choose to post, not the things that didn’t turn out, the food I burned, the parts of my house that are a complete mess. That’s the great thing about the internet sometimes. I can be much more “perfect” online than I have to be in real life.

Leave a Reply

