Skip to content

Work Privacy…

August 22, 2011
tags:

I know it’s kind of like a no-no in blog land to talk too much about work and with good reason. But at my new position I find myself struggling with privacy and I know y’all will have some feedback for me.

My desk is in an open area – I need to be accessible and be able to see people. I talk to people a lot and sometimes get people into the office if they come in the wrong door.

The big kicker is that my desk is  right next to the office copier.

I’m not talking about “near by”,  I’m talking about my back faces the workroom. I am essentially in the hallway that people use to make copies, fax and check their mail. They also use this room to shred things, get envelopes and microwave things. This room has no door.

And like I said my back and my whole computer screen face this room/ hallway.

I already struggle with keeping documents out on my desk and filing cabinets that need locks but my computer screen is totally irking me!

I bought one of these:

And you would think it acts in that fashion – blacking out my screen from anyone  not sitting right up on it working. This is more accurate picture of what it looks like from the copier:

Not blocked at all, just gray-er.

I don’t have any walls and I don’t have any other places on my desk that my computer can go. I am so frustrated!

Any advice? How do y’all keep your work stuff private? Any one else get the heebbie jeebies  when people can see your computer screen at work??

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2011 4:16 pm

    I soooo hate having people look at my computer or phone. Did you come up with anything else?

  2. August 23, 2011 10:55 pm

    The ones we use at our office typically only work from an angle, much like the screens over license plates. I had a similar issue (add in the bathroom, that’s also pleasant) in my little home away from home, so I just turned my whole desk around. Now I can see people coming from both directions (and the bathroom, sarcastic cheering inserted here!), and my work area is visible only to me unless someone comes entirely around my desk. Is furniture feng shui an option?

Leave a Reply

