Skip to content

Hurricane Irene…

August 25, 2011

So this is going to happen:

See where I am on that map? I am almost directly next to that little 3 after the Saturday AM point. FULLY COVERED by the guesstimated span of Miss Irene. It’s coming and there isn’t a whole lot we can do.

We’ve got the standard supplies (which we have already purchased by the way!):

  • Bottled or gallons of water
  • Non refrigerated food
  • Wine
  • Dog Food
  • Magazines
  • Batteries
  • Bags of Ice
  • Dr. Pepper
  • Flashlights
  • Wine (yes, again.)

We are starting all the outside prep-work to get things “hunkered down”:

  • Bring deck furniture onto the porch
  • Fill the cars gas tanks
  • move nice valuables away from windows
  • Make sure expensive electronics are plugged into surge protectors
  • Charge the crap out of every device we think we’ll need: Cell Phones, iPads, Laptops etc
  • Pick up loose items and secure things like trash cars and bikes
  • Start eating things from the freezer to prevent things from going bad
  • Get all the needed clean water activities done just in case: Laundry, Dishes, Showers etc

To answer the question I’ve gotten a few times, Nope – I’m not leaving.  We’re staying put. Haven’t run from a storm yet!

While I did grow up here and this isn’t my first rodeo with Hurricanes I can tell you this is the first time I have felt some ownership in protecting the house and keeping Finley safe.  As a kid you’re mostly concerned with keeping your prized No Doubt CD safe and figuring out ways to still hang out with your friends in the neighborhood. And hey, if you got an excuse to miss school it wasn’t so bad anyway!

Now I am still kinda hoping for a freebie day off work but now I also wonder “How do you take a dog potty in a hurricane?” or “How will I keep my wine cold if the power goes out?” and “How will I stay up to date on twitter without internet?”…This time I am also the acting  man of the house and am kinda concerned about actual hurricane dramas like branches, trees, cars, water and food going bad.

But I think with the way things are projected we’ll be ok – we’ll get some STRONG winds and a LOT of rain but that will be it. My mom is still excited to sit on the porch and watch the rain and Finley has no idea how annoying I will be when bored and a teeny bit drunk. If I get my textbook in time I may even be able to get some homework done!

Despite being prepared and ready, let’s hope Miss Irene wiggles her way to the East just a bit more to get swept off into the ocean without causing too much damage.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2011 2:28 pm

    LOL, I’m glad I’m in good company. I bought another bottle of zin – $2.99 @ Food Lion!!!!! I should probably get gas in my car, huh? I’m going to loose my hurricane virginity this weekend. Cheers, mate! ps. Some reds taste better at room temp. Just sayin’.

  2. Lauren permalink
    August 25, 2011 2:31 pm

    Good luck! I’m hoping it passes quickly!

  3. August 25, 2011 2:46 pm

    Ooohh, also wanted to let you know that they have $5 martinis (!!!!!!) at Caprice tonight downtown by Kilwin’s. Free macaroon with each martini.

  4. August 25, 2011 3:19 pm

    I hope everything goes ok for you!!!!

  5. August 25, 2011 7:50 pm

    I’m looking forward to your twitter updates! Stay safe!

Leave a Reply

