Skip to content

Staging Pictures Part 2…

August 31, 2011

I wrote back in July about our quest to stage some of the pictures around the house in an effort to detach a little bit more and make the house a little less personal.

We made those changes and as much as I miss my house and miss my wedding pictures I do think the changes turned out great.

Starting with the entry way you can see how we took down the signed matted frame and subbed in a colorful print that I stole borrowed from my mom’s house. The flowers obviously died at some point so we just put a simple candle in place.

Next thing you see is the fireplace which had the biggest change in my opinion. We took down all the personal pictures and just left a few things up there to hide the ugly cable port and show how big that space is.

Heading up stairs you can see that we swapped out my bridal portrait for another stolen borrowed picture of some Wilmington gates:

We also emptied the book shelf a little and played with the pictures in the mater bedroom’s sitting area. Other pictures got updated too since they were of Finley. Now they are of Hemingway’s house and cool looking vintage post cards that I was able to print for free on line.

The last changes we made with staging were to the office. This room has driven us crazy from day 1… it just never looked right. It’s a smaller room but perfect for what we used it for. But with the changes we finally made I’m wondering why it wasn’t this way from the beginning!

We basically flip flopped things and cleaned it up a bit. Again took down the personal pictures and replaced with general printable things from the internet. We hid cords and made the room feel a bit more balanced.

Constant worrying about staging and making your stuff look appealing to others is tough but hopefully it will pay off soon.  They weren’t big changes but I think I can see how it will and  has made a difference.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2011 9:34 am

    Your house looks great! I think staging is so exciting- my mom is a realtor and I always love crashing her staging appointments.

  2. August 31, 2011 12:44 pm

    Perfect. Other’s will see themselves there instead of a beautiful Carolina girl.

  3. August 31, 2011 1:42 pm

    I think it’s kind of weird how much of a difference staging can make! It’s true though–the buyer has to imagine themselves there. How’s the house progress going??

Leave a Reply

