Skip to content

NC State Football 2010…

September 3, 2011

Today we return to college football. Today I am tailgating and seeing friends and watch our team play our home opener against Liberty. Today is a good day.

Today will be different than any of my previous home game experiences has been. Today I am a fan not an employee :)

I came back to visit my old work place for the Spring Game and I felt really sad. I kinda wondered if I did the right thing by giving up a really great job. Yes it had LOTS of long hours and I missed making experiences in exchange for making money but it was cool. It was cool in a way that’s hard to describe.  I was one of a few that worked there and had relationships with the people who were not only on the field but the people who make getting them there possible: their families, the coaches, the staff, the administration, the game day workers, my student assistants, the volunteers etc… I liked that aspect of it a whole lot.

I am really happy at my new job and it’s totally different so I can’t even compare the two environments and responsibilities but I can look back at a few games from last season right?

I only have pictures from a few games even though we went to all of them:

Western Carolina Game 2010

Western Carolina was our home opener and it was a lot of fun for Albie’s tailgate since the new Director of Athletics stopped by to play some cornhole (top middle).  I popped out for a minute to pose for some pictures. But by far, my favorite part of any game day is coming home to my comfy clothes and my dog (Bottom left picture).

At Clemson 2010

We traveled up to Clemson last year for the game and got to stay at Albie’s grandparents’ lake house. Finley always has the best time there because he can kinda run free when he’s outside.  I kinda can’t stand Clemson – I think mostly because they are similar to NC State in background and purpose but they have one of the best game day atmosphere’s I’ve seen. I love the releasing of the balloons as the players run down the hill! This game was also their Military Appreciation game and it was awesome! It had the most touching halftime segment I think I’ve seen. We lost this game but we got to see Albie’s dad and his grandparents (bottom middle).

At UNC 2010

This year was the 4th straight year we’ve beaten our rivals and to do it in their stadium makes it so much more fun! This was a noon game in November but it was surprisingly warm out so it made easy to have some morning cocktails with our egg sandwiches that Albie grilled for us. I loathe this school and this team with entirely too much energy for one person but this was a perfect fall day made only better by sweeping them under that Head Coach!

Wake Forest 2010

This was SUCH a fun game! My good friend Anna came in town with her boyfriend from Chicago so I was already pumped to have company but then to top it off it was another perfect Fall day topped off with a victory. This was also my last home game as an employee so I took pictures of some of the facilities on game day. I hadn’t even interviewed for my new job yet but I  just felt like it was my last game so I am really glad I remembered to take pictures!

We finished the season 9 and 4 which isn’t awesome but was good enough to get us to our Bowl Game in Orlando. {Which I blogged about HERE} I am super super excited to start this new season today and even more excited that I get to tailgate again!!!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 3, 2011 1:13 pm

    You have the best photo collages. Where do you make them!? I hope the game day atmosphere is more fun for you this year since you don’t have to work! :)

Leave a Reply

