Skip to content

Long Distance Marriage…

September 8, 2011

This month we enter our 6 month of living apart. We’ve only been married for 29 months and 6 have long distance.

Isn’t this the kind of thing that “just dating” couples are supposed to go through? Aren’t married people supposed to be budgeting, grocery shopping, planning, talking, cooking and living together? Don’t most couples end their long distance phase when the wedding happens?

I realize we’re lucky to be less than 3 hours away from each other and I am very aware this distance is something we chose for our jobs but I can still complain right?

I love seeing Albie on weekends but with our jobs getting busy again it’s not an “every weekend” kind of thing and lately it’s not even been an “every other weekend” thing… which really sucks.

There are aspects of  this long distance relationship that I am getting used to: my routine with Finley, my freedom to just eat crappy foods for dinner, and not having a need to make my bed or clean up. But I miss having someone to cook with, talk about my day with, and run errands with. I miss having having someone to snuggle with at night (besides Finley!) and someone to make plans with. I miss being “married”…

I think I always start to get uber sappy about this stuff after a great weekend with him at the house, like this past weekend. We went to the football game and won, we stayed on the couch and watch TONS of Netflix and then spent a whole day fixing random small things around the house. We cracked jokes, had drinks, cooked, played with Finley and saw some friends. That’s what being married feels like.

We’re still working on getting everything in one town but no matter how you slice it it can be tough.

Have any of y’all done this? Married or not – what did you do to not feel so “distant” when you were long distance?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2011 9:03 pm

    I give you MAD props for the long distance marriage (hopefully ending soon?) I often get frustrated and think to myself “uh! I wish I had taken advantage of me time when I was single!” but then Dan was gone a couple weeks ago and I got bored with “me” after 2 days. But the one thing I will say about being apart is it makes getting back together very, very fun! :)

  2. September 8, 2011 9:26 pm

    My husband and I were long distance for about 5 years while we were at school (before he was my husband). It’s rough! We used to talk to each other on the phone several times a day, and that helped, but it was still hard. I’m sure that it will work out and you guys will be able to be in the same location SOON!

  3. September 8, 2011 11:01 pm

    My now-husband and I did a year of long distance while we were dating and both in grad school on opposite coasts. It’s not easy, but is definitely worth it when you’re both working on things that will make your future better, be it school, an assignment, great job, etc. Keeping that in mind definitely helped us make it through that year! Hope you two find yourselves in the same town again, and soon!

  4. Becky permalink
    September 8, 2011 11:14 pm

    Rob and I aren’t long distance, but I certainly do my fair share of traveling!! I think that the best thing we do is face time or skype. I really do feel for you–nothing compares to the feeling of snuggling up to your husband!!

  5. lindsey permalink
    September 9, 2011 4:48 am

    I think about you all the time, KL! Hoping that things work out so soon and you’re back to your normal weekends as a family of 3!!

Leave a Reply

