Skip to content

Under Contract…

September 22, 2011

That’s right… we not only got an offer, negotiated said offer and signed a contract but we also went through the scary appraisal and inspection process… including a 48 hour Raon test.

We got the initial offer on the day Hurricane Irene hit. No joke, I got out of work and the power is flickering and I’m having to negotiate an offer on the house, an offer I’m not super happy about.

Wine was poured, tears were cried, calls back and forth… back and forth were made. But the deal is made and it’s a fair deal for all parties involved.

Yes, it’s below the asking price quite a bit. It’s even lower than the price we purchased it for just a short 3 years ago. C’est la vie. This is how it is. It’s a buyer market.

Side Note: I totally now hate the phrase “it’s a buyer’s market.” I will also now start to eat crow since I am on the market and am considered a buyer.

We do our final move this week and our closing is also this week.

After all my pessimism around selling a house for a loss in this economy, it’s working out ok. I always thought we’d sell this house to a girl because the details are only something a girl would appreciate as much as I do.

Everyone said “It only takes one person.” and “Everyone has their price”…well it’s all true. Luckily for us this worked out.

I’ll miss my house a lot. I love that little house. But I have learned a lot in this selling process and I am taking away knowledge that will hopefully in my buying process here in our new town.

I will probably post more on the process and pass along things I  have learned in a later post. In the meantime, I am up to my eyeballs in stress and happy at the same time.Kinda a catch-22 to sell the house I love so much but it’s the right thing and it will lead to really good things here in one town again… SOON. (hopefully)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauren permalink
    September 23, 2011 12:00 am

    Congratulations! Good luck finding a new place. House hunting can be lots of fun!

  2. September 23, 2011 1:54 pm

    yay for being able to tell the world! I hope house hunting and job searching for Albie goes well! Good luck good luck!! :)

  3. September 24, 2011 8:25 am

    yay! I’m glad you’ll finally be able to start living in the same place, and so excited that you sold your house (I’m avoiding any negative comments, can you tell?) :) :) :)

  4. September 24, 2011 9:44 am

    Congrats!! It must be such a rollercoaster… but sounds like this is the start of great things to come!

  5. September 26, 2011 3:13 pm

    That’s fantastic news for you! I’m sure somewhat bittersweet, but yay…it sold! :) Cheers to having Albie back (soon) with you!

Leave a Reply

