Skip to content

Bachelorette Weekend in Charleston…

October 3, 2011

 

The weekend before the closing on our house, when most people are packing and cleaning, I took off to Charleston for a Bachelorette weekend of a good friend from college.

I needed the weekend away from both my home and my temp home. I needed a weekend with drinks and conversation. I needed a few days off work and I needed to see good friends. The weekend did not disappoint!

I left town after class and drove through some of the worst rain I have ever driven through. But the end result was worth it:

I didn’t even go to the rented house right away. I pulled into a parking spot and met a former student-assistant, now friend (yay!) for a couple of glasses of wine and some good ol’ fashion gossip. It was a perfect way to start the weekend. I am only bummed we didn’t get a picture.

After my drinks at Social Wine Bar I headed over to the house that we had rented for the weekend.  We spent Friday night getting to know each other and chatting.

Saturday morning we walked around downtown. Between off an on rain showers we navigated Charleston and the Market.

Dogs and Wine together?! Sign me up!

Apparently, now that I am in the Junior League I feel the need to seek out Junior League cookbooks.  I would have bought one but I am more of a fan of cookbooks with pictures.

We spent the whole weekend walking. Walking and walking and walking. While I love a good walk, I have never claimed to be in shape. And after this weekend I was SORE. I had great pictures from the sightseeing but , SORE.

This was our ah-mazing house! The maid of honor, Christie, found this rental on “Vacation Rentals By Owner” and it was perfect. Great location, quiet street, downtown and upgraded but old.

Saturday afternoon the bridesmaids held a bridal shower. Luckily for me, NC State had already played so I wasn’t missing a game (although, I wish I had missed our Thursday night embarrassment.) The girls we were with were mostly Clemson fans so the shower had the added ambiance of the Clemson/ FSU game.

The shower was great, we had games (I lost both, as always.) And Tara, the bride, opened gifts. The food was delish and the cake was hilariously skrewed up by the store.We watched Bridesmaids and like always about cried with laughing so hard.

Saturday night was our “go out” night and we started with an awesome dinner at Fleet Landing. I seriously had THE BEST She Crab Soup. Seriously I ate it all so fast that when my entree (Shrimp & Gritts) came out I took 2 bites and was full. Waste of money? YES. Do I regret it? NO!

After dinner we went to some bars around downtown and had a great time.

Sunday morning we had breakfast at Husk, which is right next door to a place I have been dying to try. But let me tell you… this brunch was the perfect way to end our weekend.

For real, Have y’all had a Cinnamon Bun the side of your head? Have you had rolls that were so salty and good that adding “honey pork butter” is like icing on a cake?? This meal was SOO good.

I got on the road extremely tired, a bit sore and ready to clean out my house.  I think it was the *just* the weekend I needed.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2011 9:07 pm

    Those pictures are gorgeous!! Charleston is a beautiful, beautiful place!!

  2. ccvoelker@gmail.com permalink
    October 3, 2011 9:57 pm

    Yay! Great post and pictures :) Get ready for another fabulous weekend in 2 weeks, can’t wait to see you again!!

  3. October 3, 2011 10:13 pm

    It looks like such a fun weekend! I love Charleston and don’t get there enough, such a beautiful and fun city. I hope closing went well for you!

  4. October 3, 2011 10:23 pm

    I’ve always wanted to go to Charleston and after seeing these pictures, I REALLY want to go now! This looks like the perfect bachelorette weekend. Fun! :)

Leave a Reply

