Skip to content

A Single-Married Girl’s Favorite Things…

October 11, 2011

One of the things about being in a long distance marriage that I love/ hate is “free time”. I was always one of those kids who was perfectly content to play Barbies in my room by my self. I was a happy waitress when I could run my own section. In college study groups were a waste of time and not nearly as effective as a good set of note cards I made by my self. I like to start my mornings on my own and end my work day on my own.

I hate how the days get confused and I have no real routine. I hate that I make meals for 1 and I hate that my plans are normally attended by solo me.

Getting married obviously meant that my “alone space/ time” is now occupied by someone else. Someone who likes me and wants to spend time with me no matter how dumb I’m being or how lame of a TV show I want to watch.

So moving away from my husband and my house and starting fresh has had some challenges but it’s also helped me be “single” for a bit – which I’ve never done before.

I’ve told y’all about my Secret Single Behavior before but this time I wanted to tell y’all about the things that have helped me kill time between weekends or trips to see Albie:

  • Single servings of Spaghetti:

This picture is from here and comes with a recipe I wouldn’t mind trying but in real life I use some Classico and some angel hair. And that’s a fancy night. I boil the noodles, I drain the water, I pour the sauce and I sprinkle the cheese. I eat out of a real bowl with a real fork and it’s perfect.

  • Nail polish:

I lived with Peach Daiquiri on my nails all summer and it was perfect. But now that it’s fall I am in love with Scarlett O’Hara – it’s perfect for football season and for a more subdued color. I must paint my nails 4 nights a week. (hum, that sounds pathetic once typed.) I like when people think I get them done so they need to look perfect ;)

  • Wine:

I’ve mentioned my favorite box wine before. But having a cocktail or two (uh, or more) can really help me relax.  Sometimes I like to make my friends drink my box wine with me and try to convince them I’m just not super ghetto.  But mostly wine nights and happy hours with new friends is really what’s  been what helped the most.

  • New Friends:

One of my favorite things about my new friends is that we’re normally so relaxed and just hanging out that I don’t even think to take pictures. We drink wine, we go to the beach, we eat mac & cheese, we make coasters, we watch Sex & the City reruns and we talk.

I was pretty uncertain about leaving Albie, my old city and my old job because of the relationships I would be loosing. I can eventually find a house that I’d love and I’d get into a routine with work and maybe feel like I know what I’m doing again but it’s hard to replace people.

I haven’t replaced people/ relationships by any means but I do have new friends and new co-workers. New wine buddies. New people to be judge-y with and new people to watch Glee with. As someone who’s not great at keeping up with old friends or people I am also learning how to keep in contact and get to know people.

So for anyone else that’s single, or just a single-married girl, I recommend single food servings, nail polish, wine and good friends.Or all of the above :)

What would you add to the list from your single girl days?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2011 10:58 am

    Ohhh good blog post. I miss staying up late and watching whatever I want on TV and listening to my own music. I know I can theoretically do that now, but having my husband in the house makes it less, “me time,” if you get what I am saying. I also miss not making dinner. When Dan’s gone I have cereal for dinner. Or crackers. Or sometimes ice cream. But Dan likes a meal every night which can sometimes be awesome but has not been so friendly to my waistline.

  2. October 12, 2011 12:44 pm

    I definitely enjoy my “single time” in moderation. I think it’s awesome that you’re coping so well with it, making new friends and seeing the silver lining.

  3. October 12, 2011 9:09 pm

    I can’t wait until you and Albie are finally reunited! I do enjoy getting to watch a few of my tv shows whenever Rob’s not around. ;)

Leave a Reply

