Skip to content

Long Distance Update…

October 21, 2011

Today is October 21st. That means exactly 8 months ago I moved here and started work. Without my husband, Albie.

I did an 8 Weeks Later post where I sound vaguely optimistic that things had to change soon and that this just couldn’t go on any longer. Humm… well it appears that not only could things continue but they will continue.

Luckily the house sold and we are now mortgage and real estate free. We are able to finally start the process of saving for that next house and maybe even make some Dave Ramsey-esqe progress towards looking at our finances. Without a mortgage and real bills we can do that, which is kind of nice to think about.

But the real point is that we can save and plan and look forward to things but we can’t do anything until Albie works here in our new town.

He got an apartment with some dudes he found on Craigslist. Yeah, he’s living with people that he met on move in day. People who really don’t understand why we don’t live together and why someone who’s 26 is married int he first place.

They’re nice enough guys, very normal. But they’re still roommates. Coming from someone who’s AWFUL to live with and hated having roommates of any kind I am not such a fan of this arrangement. But it’s cheap, and it’s a space for him to live in between trips to see me and for me to stay at for football games.

I am gaining insight into the world of bachelors though. It’s not pretty. It also seems expensive. But my friends remind me that this will give us good stories to laugh about later.

Here in town things are the same. My work is picking up speed and I guess I’m starting to feel a part of the “team” but I can’t seem to shake the annoying “well, at my last job… blah blah blah.” I’m waiting for them to tell me “I don’t care what you did at your last job. ” Because honestly, if I wear listening I’d have gone crazy by now.

But they’re all nicer than me so I guess that’s a good thing :)

Oh! And I joined the Junior League!  Albie is probably rolling his eyes right now but so far I like it. I have friends in it, and I’m signed up to do things like mentoring breakfasts and work shifts at our fundraisers. They drink wine DURING the meetings and mean well in their community projects that they plan at the same time. So far so good!

Obviously, living long distance from Albie and working in different cities isn’t ideal. We don’t get to talk about our day to each other and when we get into town (either one) to see each other it’s hard to do the friends/ activities/ life/ see spouse balancing act. We are by no means pros at this quite yet but we’re working on it.

And even though I’m not watching Project Runway this season I can’t help but think this every time I get frustrated by how long these shenanigans have gone one so far:

Source: Uploaded by user via Katie on Pinterest

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2011 5:22 pm

    Has it really been 8 months!? I am glad that Albie’s roommate situation is working out. No mortgage payment has to be awesome. Rob and I are working on some serious budget action as well. No fun, but it has to be done!

  2. October 24, 2011 11:59 am

    I can’t believe it’s been that long. I don’t know how you guys are doing it-props to you for making it work. I’m keeping you in my prayers so Albie can join you and you can go back to a “normal life”.

  3. October 24, 2011 2:00 pm

    Do you like Junior League? I can’t decide whether I want to join or not. On one hand, it looks like a great way to make friends and be an active member of the community. On the other hand, I am a bit worried that its going to be a lot of pretentious girls with no jobs :( But if you are in it (and enjoy it) its obviously not, right? We should discuss this further at some point….

Leave a Reply

