Skip to content

NC State vs Central Michigan…

October 23, 2011

This was the most recent home game we had so yay for finally being caught up on these posts! Are you sick of them yet? (Don’t answer that.) Another GORGEOUS day and I was happy to spend it tailgating with Albie.

Speaking of Albie, he always rolls out the grill and prepares an awesome tailgate menu a couple of days before the game. Once I get into town we finalize who’s stopping by the tailgate, what they’re bringing and what sides we want. We don’t really want to duplicate our main course too often so it’s not all hot dogs or burgers!

This week? I wanted Paninis. Yep – we grilled sandwiches. and they were AWESOME.

I am the most boring sandwich maker every – just meat and cheese please! But I do like good meat, and yummy cheese and fresh flavorful bread. Pictured you can see my roasted chicken with some mesquite turkey breast along with some Munster cheese and some mozzarella/ provolone cheese all on some rosemary and olive oil bread. It was a yummy flavored meat and cheese party right on my plate. It was perfect. It wasn’t traditional tailgate but it was exactly what I wanted.

So far this season we’ve been pretty good about keeping on a schedule of sorts. If we don’t talk about how we want the timing to go it’s very easy to get lost in the comfortableness that tailgating is.

If we pack up the tailgate and pour our walking drinks with an hour before kick off that gives us more than enough time to walk to our gate, chat with people we see, and sit in the seats with time to spare before the team runs out.

As you can see by my picture of the score board above, we seemed to run a bit behind this game and missed the National Anthem that was sung by that Scotty kid who won American Idol. (Side Note: Have never seen that show ever.) I know a lot of people were super excited to see Scotty so I think that’s why the gates and sections had a bit more traffic to get in early compared to past games.

This game was one of our only chances to acknowledge Breast cancer Awareness during October so our team came out wearing alternate uniforms for the first time: Black with Pink print. While I can’t say I was a huge fan of seeing my team in black ( We are the RED AND WHITE from State…) they did look cool and the throw back helmets were perfect. I hope we see those again at the very least.

I also seem to be getting a hang of remembering to not only pace my self at the tailgate so the game is still the main event, but I am also remembering to bring my camera and use it. Pretty impressive if I do say so my self.

Touchdown!!!!

Ok, I have to tell you about my favorite part of our seats. it’s these kids:

They are hilarious and SOOOO into the game normally. Sometimes they come from soccer games and sometimes they have buddies with them but without fail they are so funny to watch. For the most part they’re well behaved and the best is that their parents still seem to enjoy themselves but still watch the kids and keep them under control.  Random I know, but since these are our lifetime rights I feel like I should like the people around us until we can bump our giving level – which I don’t see happening any time soon.


This game got a little too close for a while and with the amount of guys we have not playing right now it could have gone any way but luckily we still won!  Woohoo!

Following this game started out stretch of the bye week (Last week) and then two away games. We wont be back to tailgate until that first weekend in November for our big Rivalry game! By then I’m sure it will be cold so any ideas on how to dress cute and festive and RED let me know! Maybe I should splurge for a red coat!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2011 1:22 pm

    That sandwich looks awesome! That’s a fun idea for a tailgate.

  2. October 24, 2011 11:58 am

    Central Michigan is where I went to undergrad! :) Fire up Chips! Congrats on the victory!!!!

  3. October 24, 2011 9:55 pm

    I’ve never thought about paninis for tailgating! Yum! And yes, get a red coat!

Leave a Reply

