Skip to content

My Attempt at Poofing…

November 20, 2011

Also could be titled ” How do you get volume in your hair because I have no damn clue…”

I won’t lie and tell you my hair is terrible, I am lucky enough to have hair that doesn’t need a whole lot of “tending to”. I don’t color it, I don’t get it cut often and I sure as heck don’t wash it every day. (You’re impressed by me already aren’t you?)

With that said, it doesn’t hold curl, I have an awkward flat spot that make the hair on my crown fall like limp angel hair pasta. No thanks. I want big, fun, voluminous hair that needs to be tamed back with a head band instead of the head band being there solely for decoration.

Enter a fun Friday evening of you tube how to videos, and some blog stalking of the cute Pink Lou Lou.

I started with supplies fresh from the drug store on the way home from work:

Then I took a shower to start fresh. I wanted to give my hair every benefit of the doubt. I know sometimes day-after hair is better but I didn’t have anywhere to go so I gave it a shot.

Some things I want to mention:

  • Finley was bored so ignore the sleepy black thing on the bed.
  • I really have a weird cow-lick thing that happens with my hair that drives my crazy. It’s on my crown and looks dumb from the back. This is a HUGE pet-peeve of mine. I like my hair to look pretty from the back, no clue why.
  • This hair hasn’t been cut in 10 months so no judging :)

To work on poofing up my hair a bit I mostly followed Pink Lou Lou’s tips so visit her blog for those.

Here I am trying not to laugh at my self, not have a double chin, take my own picture, and balance GIANT Velcro rollers on my hair:

It was one of my finer moments I assure you.

After a while I took them out and tried to perfect “le poof”. This resulted in my hair looking like this:

It’s ok to laugh. I did too.

It’s got “body” and I think I know how to do the big curl at the bottom but whew was this is a “poof” fail. No matter how much I teased my hair it did  not stand up. It did not stay put even with all the bobby  pins in the world.

I tried it again in the morning and by the time I was actually dressed and ready to go somewhere it looked like this:


That’s my “I wish I had poofier hair” face. Or it’s also the ” I guess I’m always going to have flat hair” face.

Although mine is a fail, I’m about 63% sure it’s something I’m just not doing right…

If you really want to poof your hair try Ms. Lou Lou’s tips for your self. Her hair looks fab and large all the time. I am beyond jealous and will be trying this again so I can have “le poof” my self.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2011 8:24 am

    Trust me on this one: you do want want “poofier” hair. I have incomplete dominance: mom had straight hair, dad had curly ringlets. I have a hybrid of both: thick + wavy. Humidity is not your friend. I can’t wear headbands because my hair takes over. Forget barrettes (won’t stay put) or anything fun. I can do pony tails and up do’s done by professionals. It takes an hour to straighten it because of the crown issues I have as well.

    I would give my front teeth for your hair. It’s so cute and and you can do things with it. And you don’t wash it every day. If I didn’t wash mine every day I’d be a mess.

  2. November 20, 2011 8:37 am

    Your hair turned out cute! Doing techniques takes a while. I am sure you will master it in no time!

  3. November 20, 2011 11:14 am

    My hair is like that too. I think it looks cute though! And hey, at least you tried, I am so lazy with my hair!

  4. November 20, 2011 7:13 pm

    You have the prettiest hair! I can’t believe it hasn’t been cut in ten months, it looks super healthy.

  5. November 20, 2011 9:21 pm

    I love the picture of you with the velcro rollers in–so funny! I use a teasing brush (it has a bunch of close together bristles) instead of a teasing comb. Maybe that helps? I am no expert–I just happened to have bought that one instead! :)

  6. sabrina7 permalink
    November 21, 2011 5:56 am

    OMG! I wish my hair was longer so I could try this!!! Her hair on her website is ridiculous. I think if I tried a million times, it would never look that perfect.

  7. November 21, 2011 2:38 pm

    OMG, I was loving Twitter when you were posting about trying to get the poof to work out, but this post is AMAZING. I think you have beautiful hair, but I totally understand the desire to have a little more poof. I think there’s something about the salt air that keeps our hair slightly…um…flat?

    Regardless, it looks great for a first attempt. Maybe the next time you try!

  8. November 22, 2011 9:25 am

    haha I am cracking up, you are too cute. I am going to do a better tutorial. Really, I don’t even think I have one on just the POOF! ;) you make me proud sister, I know you can master it. xoxo :)

  9. November 22, 2011 11:40 pm

    This post cracked me up because my hair is SO fine. I can’t braid it because it’s do pathetically thin, but I did try rollers once. It was ridiculous, but I’m going to have to try again :) you’ve inspired me!

Leave a Reply

