Skip to content

Shop Small…

November 25, 2011
tags:

I am NOT a fan of Black Friday: I am not a fan of the lines, the frenzy, the masses of people who make this time of year about getting the best deal instead of gifting with a purpose. I think the ads are annoying and it’s all in all just too much.

But when I saw the ad for Shop Small, I was enamored.

The idea behind it is so easy: Buy one gift or one thing from a local small business.

I think sometimes we forget the small local stores when we plan our gift giving, I’m guilty of it too. It’s easy to hop into the mall or stores like Target and Best Buy to be as quick and cheap as possible. But I have found some great gifts and met some great people when I shop locally.

Even if you don’t find what you’re looking for at a local store, when you stop for lunch instead of chain fast food place you should go to the local deli or burger place.

It’s easy to make the substitution if you’re going out and shopping anyway! So keep in mind this weekend after Black Friday, and before Cyber Monday – Shop Small Saturday :)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2011 10:30 pm

    This is a really neat idea – I’m glad that it’s being talked about from Mass to North Carolina! Enjoy!

  2. November 27, 2011 9:02 pm

    I love this. I tried to use etsy as much as possible this year! :)

  3. November 28, 2011 11:31 am

    I couldn’t agree more with the Black Friday thing. Did you see the story about the woman that pepper sprayed a group of people to give herself a better chance at getting a $2 waffle iron?! So sad and ridiculous!

Leave a Reply

