Skip to content

Holiday Spirit…

December 2, 2011

Good news! I found some holiday spirit.

You may think that’s weird to have lost it but it’s kinda what I was feeling.

I’d have been ok with no tree, no stockings, no presents, no parties, no cards, no “best wishes”, no forced family time, no traditions. I would have been ok with a frozen pizza, some 30 Rock reruns and some more 75 degree days. But December is here and it had other plans for me.

Turkey on Thanksgiving needed help being prepped and I helped. Dishes needed to be washed after dinner the next day and I helped. My mom’s tree went up the day after Thanksgiving and I even helped hang ornaments. Then Monday came and deal after deal I was getting ideas for gifts for other people. I finished shopping for about 4 people on my list so far and my Christmas cards have already been shipped from the printer.

I feel like I’m on a roll.

None of this is impressive. it actually sounds kind of  boring in the sense that these are normal holiday chores/duties/ responsibilities and  that half of you are 900 steps in front of me. But to me I feel good. I feel better about the holidays coming and that I don’t have a house to decorate and a husband in town to shop with on a whim. But this year will be different and I think it will still be good.

While I still shudder at Christmas music on the radio and get angry at the weather report saying below 50 degrees at night I’m getting there. I’m even getting excited to give some of the gifts I’ve picked out for people!

Anyone else struggling to find their spirit this year?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2011 4:51 pm

    I started my shopping last weekend and it helped me feel a bit more festive. I think Christmas will be here before I know though. I need to pick up the pace! :)

  2. December 6, 2011 9:20 pm

    I feel like I have a decent amount of Christmas spirit, however when people are mean or ugly this time of year, it really dampens my mood! I’m so glad we’re exchanging Christmas cards though :)

Leave a Reply

