Skip to content

Sausage English Muffins…

December 12, 2011

One of my new favorite recipes that was so easy to bring out to the tailgate are these Sausage English Muffins. Just look:

I mean really? Could they look any more delicious? Doubtful.

These have been at a couple work functions and I finally asked for the recipe from a co-worker. The recipe she sent had about 4 ingredients and about just as many steps. THIS is a recipe I can handle.

You’ll need:

  • 1 lb spicy sausage
  • 1lb regular sausage
  • 3 Jars of Old English Cheese
  • English Muffins

Since we take these out to tailgate we do this in a couple of steps so we can be prepared but still grill and enjoy our selves. We have made these outside and at home. Both are yummy!

First steps don’t change. You can do this part in advance and stick it in the fridge or you can move right on to the final steps:

  • Cook both pounds of sausages together in a big pan. We cooked them until they had mostly no pink but weren’t scared if we saw some since they continue to cook a little.
  • Drain the sausage. (We skipped this one of the attempts and I see why it’s a needed step.)
  • Add all 3 jars of the Old English Cheese to the sausage and mix really well.

We have prepared the “mix” in advance every time since we are going between 2 kitchens trying to minimize how much uncooked food we travel with. So we put it in the Tupperware and just keep it cold.

The next steps all involve the actually assembly:

  • Fork your English muffins. These will be like open face sandwiches so you’ll use the halves separately.

  • When grilling at the tailgate we put the english muffins face down on the grill to toast them up a bit and make sure they are warm.
  • Pour the mixture of sausage and cheese onto some tin foil. We use the super thick stuff and albie basically makes a little oven/ plate/ boat contraption that keeps it all inside and warms it up on the grill:

  • Don’t over cook anything in these steps – this is just to bring everything to life before you combine.
  • The final assembly step is to load the English muffins as full as they’ll get. Don’t be stingy. (If you make them for work, you can be stingy to make it go further but for tailgeting – don’t even think about it. These help soak up all that early morning acholol you’ve been drinking.)

  • Forgot to take a picture of this step but you just need to put the assembled open faced English muffins back on the grill. I think our little travel grill holds 6 at one time because you don’t want to put them directly over the heat/ flame.
  • Remember everything has already been cooked all these steps just help the melting and warming it. Once you feel like they’re warmed pretty thoroughly you should take some and hoard them on your plate.  You will want to eat all of them but it’s nicer to share. So eat yours then grab another drink and wait for more to come off the grill.

Quantity Note: The entire mixture with the full list of ingredients makes about 20 open faced yummies. I’m sure you could use less or more on each muffin to get varying numbers but it’s supposed to make 20.

Baking Note: Obviously not everyone is going to eat these off the grill and that makes me a little sad but I understand. So to bake them just pre-heat your over to 350 and bake them for 15-20 minutes.When I tried them this way they were just as good but I thought this took a little longer then grilling – probably because I wasn’t enjoying a tasty beverage outside on a gorgeous Saturday morning.

Ingredient Note: Finding Old English Cheese makes me want to stomp on pretty flowers. It’s not with the cheese and it’s in these teeny tiny jars. It’s not super cheap (about $3 a jar) and not at every grocery store. I think it’s like a chedder-y spreadable cheese but I can’t really put my finger on it… it resembles Velveeta but is different… anyway, if you have any suggestions to a good substitute PLEASE tell me. I’d love to find a way to make this a little cheaper or with ingredients I have on hand already.  Either way it’s really good, I’d just love to have a back up substitute.

Let me know if y’all make these! (so I can come over and eat them with you!)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2011 4:48 pm

    Would shredded cheese work, but just provide a little texture? It looks so delicious. When I read this recipe, I thought it sounded like sausage balls, kind of. (Which we are making on Thursday for a Christmas party!! YAY!) :)

  2. December 12, 2011 6:44 pm

    Yum! This looks delicious!

  3. December 13, 2011 11:25 am

    can you try cheese whiz in the jar? it looks a lot like old english cheese.

  4. December 13, 2011 2:43 pm

    My family makes these and calls them sausage doodies. We use the sausage and sharp cheddar cheese (2 2cup bag or eyeball it if using 2 lbs of sausage) and a Tbsp of sage. We also broil them in the oven. For just a few minutes. That would definitely speed up your cooking time! This is the perfect bring to office breakfast item. You can make the sausage and cheese mixture the night before and spread on your English muffins. Lay them out on your cookie sheet, cover in plastic wrap, and refrigerate. In the morning all you need to do is pop them in the oven!

  5. December 18, 2011 1:21 pm

    These look heavenly!! We don’t do much tailgating, but I need to find an excuse to go to en early morning tailgate!

  6. Gman permalink
    December 29, 2011 2:49 pm

    Oh Rachel, you had me at sausage; then you clenched it again with cheese! I love to take things like this tailgating. For a substitute I agree with Becky; Cheese Whiz, some sharp cheddar and powdered hickory smoke I bet would do the trick. Also Cracker Barrel makes a smoky cheddar that might work too if it melts well. We are going tailgating again this weekend for the Bronco’s home game and I’ll try this. I have been tailgating for over 30 years and technology keeps making it more and more exciting. Now we take our 60’ TV and Tailgater portable satellite dish from DISH Network. Every since I heard about it while working at DISH I knew I was the poster child for this product and I was right. It’s so easy to set up and lightweight. Now if we add the “Sausage Doodies,” as MC called them, we may have heaven on earth!

  7. Valheru permalink
    January 13, 2012 9:01 pm

    I have made these for a long time. The only difference is I add about 3/4 a stick of butter to the mix and then reduce the cheese and butter combination for about 25 minutes. After I spoon all of the sausage/cheese mixture onto the english muffins, I broil them for just a few minutes to brown the tops of the cheese just in the raised areas. They’re freakin’ so amazing when you fry an egg over medium and crack it over the top. Cheers to your recipe! I thought there were only a handful of us Hoosiers who knew THAT recipe!

Leave a Reply

