Skip to content

Dear Paris…

December 13, 2011

Y’all… I need to go to France. I need to.

I finished the French course I was taking this semester and even though I went back a few levels to refresh what I knew I feel like I learned more this time along. Maybe it was because there was no grade hanging over my head and because I took it to LEARN. Either way I really enjoyed it!

(ok, I did not enjoy studying for tests or seeing “Homework Due” on my planner but enjoyed the actual French for sure!)

I took 4 years of French in High School and 2 in College. If you add this one then I have taken French for 7 years and I’m most certain that if asked “Parlez-vous Français?” my answer would still be “Je parle un peu.” It’s kind of heart breaking. I’m forging on anyway and thinking of continuing up another level this Spring. (Auditing again obviously.)

Since no trip to France is even planned in the near future I think I’ll just stick to my French courses and subtitled movies until we can fit it in.

{Image found via HERE }

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2011 10:47 pm

    You need to go to Paris! It is a gorgeous, gorgeous city and you just feel so worldly and cultured there…although I did fall down about 20 stairs at the Louvre. I was fine, but just wanted to die of embarrassment. :) I speak so very little French, but I think everyone appreciated the effort. Albie needs to take you! :)

  2. December 19, 2011 10:16 pm

    I took about seven years of french as well and am no where near fluent. It is frustrating, but the best way to learn is to go there and just roam around. Paris is one of my very favorites, but the southern coast is beautiful as well so squeeze that in when you plan your trip!

Leave a Reply

