Skip to content

Gift Wrapping…

December 22, 2011

Leading up to this holiday season I have been seeing tons, and I mean  TONS, of wrapping and bow tutorials on Pinterest and I have slight issues with this. Pictures of amazingly wrapped gifts and all in cute matching themes. Let me show you some of my favs:
.

Source: 4inspireddesign.com via Katie on Pinterest

.

Source: houseandhome.com via Katie on Pinterest

.

Source: eddieross.com via Emily on Pinterest

.

Source: pinkpreppypartygirl.blogspot.com via Katie on Pinterest

.

Source: wholeliving.com via Katie on Pinterest

.

Source: domesticali.tumblr.com via Erin on Pinterest

.

Source: coxandcox.co.uk via Sarahjane on Pinterest

.

I mean really? Those all look like PERFECTION.  And while I am aware these are professionally photographed and there probably aren’t even real gifts inside those boxes I know I’ve seen on regualr people’s blogs that y’all are doing this too! Twitter is even worse, I can see just exactly how cute and how much time people are spending on their gift wrapping! Not to hate too much but can we address a few things?

  • When did we decide to stop using dollar store/ Target wrapping paper? Are the mismatched cartoon Santas and Christmas trees not good enough anymore? Mine is more of a pattern this year to stay kind of cute but if I run out it’s Santa Mickeys all the way.
  • Real ribbon? Maybe I am too cheep but IF a gift gets a bow then it’s a fancy curled ribbon one that I made. No real ribbon my gifts unless it’s actually part of the gift.
  • What’s up with the boxes? Am I the only one who struggles to wrap candles and bottles every year?
  • Double sided tape? NO thanks – I’ll use my multi-pack of scotch tape that I keep on hand. I don’t care if you can see my tape or if I use too much!

I do want to send my kudos out to all of you who have these cute themes and expensive labels. Your gifts are literally too pretty to open sometimes. But mine? Mine looks like I wrapped them with a dog in my lap and a glass of wine in one hand with my dollar store supplies:

haha, oh wait ….. that is how I wrap my gifts. No one minds a funky shaped gift where the paper doesn’t quite touch and has dog hair in the tape right? It’s the thought that counts right?!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2011 2:34 pm

    Thanks for keeping it real. I’m not allowed to buy another roll of wrapping paper until we’re out so our presents are an odd assortment of what I like to call “bachelor” Christmas wrapping paper from before our married days and a mixture of cartoon Santas.

  2. December 22, 2011 3:28 pm

    My packages look kind of hilarious…..I thought that I was using silver glittery leftover wrapping paper until I realized it was leftover from our wedding and the glitter is actually hearts. I wrapped about 5 gifts before I realized. No way am I redoing those!! haha!

  3. December 22, 2011 9:26 pm

    OMG, I LOVE this! Thank you, thank you! So what if my paper is thin as can be and came in a four pack from Costco? And yes, sometimes I use those pre-made bows (from the dollar store) that you just peel and stick on! Glad you feel the same way! Way to keep it real.

  4. December 30, 2011 10:29 am

    I just can’t bring myself to care about wrapping paper or making pretty bows. I know I should but I mean, it just gets ripped up anyways, right?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

