Skip to content

Champagne Taste on a Beer Budget…

January 13, 2012
tags: ,

Source: orlandoweekly.com via Katie on Pinterest

.

I’m having one of those weeks…. months… um years I guess, where I am constantly feeling like what I want is unattainable. And mostly because of the cost involved in getting it.

My friend at work nailed it when she asked me “Why do we have champagne tastes on a beer budget?” She stumped me. But it made sense.

The trips I want. The houses I love. The furniture I covet. The clothes I try on. The cars I drive by. The menu items I drool over. The hobbies I have time for. The puppies that need rescuing. The bills that must get paid.

We’re closing in on the year mark of when we realized we’d live apart for a while and while I’ve actually gotten used to out routine and understand we’re living in two towns and two houses to do what’s best for us it certainly doesn’t help change my wants and desires.

As I browse houses that I thought would be “next” after our town home I am needing some reminding that while I want a mortgage here at the beach, we have rent in the Piedmont. I also need reminding sometimes that just because I feel like it’s time to do things, go places and buy things – it’s not.

Sometimes I think my issue could be a “keeping up the Jones’ ” attitude brought on by too much time on facebook, pinterest and blogs. Anyone feel this way? Anyone else totally have “champagne taste on a beer budget”?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2012 4:11 pm

    I definitely feel that way constantly. I keep seeing all these cute clothes I want, but because of a spring full of weddings and the 3 Ts (Tessie – big vet visit, taxes, and new tires), I can’t buy any of them. W. is in that place, too, because his job keeps postponing his review aka telling him what kind of raise he should be getting. He’s ready to buy a new car but can’t until he can figure out his monthly paycheck. He and I ARE doing a good job appreciating what we do have though :)

    Happy Friday!

  2. January 13, 2012 6:04 pm

    I think a lot of this has to do with our parents. When you grow up in a house where everything matched and you went on vacation every year and there were nice cars in the drive way you grow up thinking that that’s the way it is. However, we forget that our parents didn’t actually start out that way; we unfortunately grow up accustomed to that life style and then feel like we’re lacking when we’re just not there financially. I think most girls in our twenties have champagne taste on a beer budget…cheers!

  3. January 13, 2012 9:00 pm

    Definitely! Whether it be TV, facebook, Pinterest or something else, it always seems like people are living it up while we’re scraping by. I’m convinced everyone’s still faking it til they’re making it.

  4. January 14, 2012 8:12 am

    I have found the “champagne taste on a beer budget” got worse after we moved into a “real” house! There are so many things we want, but know we will have to take our time getting them. Eric is really good about reminding me to enjoy what we do have and the point we are at in our lives, because it took us alot to get here and we have luxuries now that we may not in a few years, but I can’t say I have mastered that yet! I want a new tv cabinet darnit (and a treadmill and a screened porch and a corner hutch and bedroom furniture and guest room furniture and a European river cruise and a maid)!!

  5. January 14, 2012 8:51 am

    Oh yes. I totally know what you mean. One thing my husband often reminds me is to think about the money we’re saving right now and how much of our student loans we’ve paid off in our first 3 years of marriage. He also reminds me that so many people our age live on credit cards, and we have zero credit card debt. When I think of it this way, it helps put things in perspective. People may look like they have it all, but that’s just what we see on the outside.

    I have to remind myself of this a LOT!

  6. January 15, 2012 9:49 pm

    I just had this convo today about houses with my husband. You are not the only one who feels that way…but we are young and the best is yet to come! At least that’s what I keep telling myself.

  7. January 17, 2012 10:22 pm

    I feel like I have champagne taste on a diet coke budget. ;) However, after reading some of the comments it does make me feel better! We are in a much better financial situation than some of the other people we know and that is something to be proud of. I know in 5-10 years our life will look totally different, but we should definitely appreciate and love our life now. :)

  8. January 25, 2012 10:19 am

    Oh my gosh, this is so refreshing to read! I told Mike a few nights ago that I have the “greedy gimmes.” I want, want, want, and I want it all now! It’s so frustrating. I was in line behind a girl at Target the other night and she was buying a cute breakfast tray, two pairs of shoes and a cute dress, and all I could think was, “Man, I miss those days…” and then I noticed she paid with a credit card. Made me feel better about the sacrifices we’re making now so that in a few years we’re in a great spot financially.

    I hate to say this, but it makes me feel better other people have these same feelings.

Leave a Reply

