Skip to content

Houses So Far…

January 27, 2012

Since I moved here last March I have been hesitant to look at houses again. First we had to sell our house then we wanted Albie to have a secure job here in town with me before I even start a “saved search” on a real estate website.

Once the house sold in September Albie and I decided we could start “peaking” at what’s out there. I found a Realtor and met with her on my own. I got a “portal” set up and I started saving my favorites. One by one though they were selling. So right after the new year when we decided we wouldn’t be bothering people’s holidays anymore we started visiting houses.

First I’d start with a big list of houses and one day during the week while he’s gone I drive around go through the neighborhoods and to knock off any based on appearances. This step has been crucial. As of today we have DRIVEN BY over 60 houses.

The drive-bys have helped me figure out what was important in a neighborhood. I have discovered I can be very superficial about the way a house looks and how the neighborhood feels. What do the neighbors have in their yard? What kinds of cars in the other drive ways, are people parked in the street? Are there street lights? How is traffic getting in and out? I’m telling you, before I wasted my agent’s time I wasted mine and it has been well worth it.

After lists get knocked down to a manageable number we set our visits up. Visiting day we show up to our agent’s office with a fresh Dr. Pepper, notebook, pen and camera. Our agent brings the MLS reports and she drives. After about 5 different days like this we have a pretty good routine and it works for us.

Here’s a few we’ve seen so far:

Some of these have been my favorites before I even stepped foot in side and then have been crushed with the awkward layouts or upgrades needed. I swear if I see another kitchen that has full on oak cabinets I’ll cry.

Some of these have had the smallest bedrooms I have ever seen and some have been GORGEOUS. Some of have been short sales, some have been foreclosures. Most have been empty and luckily all have been in a good price range.

We did offer on one of these houses this week and lost it  because another offer was on the table. I knew that other offer was out there and told my self not to get excited but I did anyway and spent most of Wednesday night feeling crushed.

It gets to a point with a lot of these houses where you start to picture where your couch goes and what color that 3rd bedroom could be. If you’re like me then you drive by every chance you get just to pretend you already live there too ;)

I don’t have a few on here because they aren’t knocked off just yet  and since it’s almost the weekend I think we’ll be making some more rounds. Wish us luck!

Anyone else have any house hunting tips?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2012 10:14 am

    Good luck! House hunting can be a fun yet daunting task. Hope you find something that suits you guys soon!

  2. January 27, 2012 10:28 am

    I’m sorry your Wednesday night was a bummer. I’ve never been house hunting (to buy) and I have a feeling it would be an emotional rollercoaster! Hang in there!

  3. January 27, 2012 10:31 am

    Those are beautiful! My house hunting/education tip would be to watch as much House Hunters and Property Virgins on HGTV as possible. We learned SO much from those two shows when we were going through the process. We still learn from them. Good luck!

  4. January 27, 2012 11:05 am

    Your house is coming :) XOXO

    PS: I’m sorry that you had two icky nights in a row after last night’s game! :(

  5. January 27, 2012 11:45 am

    I am glad you are doing “drive by’s” too! Eric and I laughed when we realized we were saying “you want to do a drive by tonight?” in public places. Luckily we never got arrested!

  6. Megan permalink
    January 28, 2012 2:18 pm

    Since Mom and Dad’s house got broken into last week, I’ve decided when I househunt someday – I’m going to keep an eye on the crime maps for that part of town. Even though our street never had any issues in the 22 years we have lived there, there were trends nearby that could have led us to get a security system before the fact, rather than after.

    http://spotcrime.com/nc/wilmington
    http://www.starnewsonline.com/article/20100504/MULTIMEDIA/100509884
    http://www.neighborhoodscout.com/nc/wilmington/crime/

    All of those pictures are lovely! I’m happy to offer a second opinion if you want one once you get down to some “finalists” :)

Leave a Reply

