Skip to content

Our Love Story…

February 14, 2012

Today I’m linking up with From Mrs. to Mama with her Love Story Link up!

1. How long have you and your significant other been together?

Next week we’re rounding our 11 year dating anniversary. ELEVEN YEARS. When did that happen??

2. How did you meet? {What’s your “love” story?}
 
My sophomore year of high school I was on a dating spree. If I wasn’t “dating” someone then I was crushing on another. I don’t remember when but it was sometime around January in 2001 that I noticed Albie in the cafeteria at school. Then I’d see him in the hall. Then I’d make my friends walk by random spots that I thought he’d be during the day.
 
Then in February I was with a girl that knew him. They waved to each other and after I was sure he was out of earshot I looked at her and said “How do you know him. He is SO cute!” She laughed at me and was like, “Who, Albie??” Well obviously I thought…. Long story short she promised to introduce me.
 
It was 16th birthday that I was feeling like hot stuff. I had some snake skin pants, some platform shoes and a sleeveless black turtle neck on. (Yes, I remember what I was wearing.) I had my glitter eye shadow on in full force and had spent an extreme amount of time curling my hair that day. But that day she took me to where he stood at lunch and I introduced my self.
 
Albie, being Albie, said “My friend Kevin is over there…” (Kevin was later voted best looking in the senior yearbook.) I said ok but that I was actually wasn’t interested in meeting Kevin, I was coming to talk to him. At this point his friends were kind of catching on and I started to get a wee bit embarrassed but pressed on. I handed him an invitation to my Sweet 16 birthday party that I’d been obsessively planning and told him he could bring as many people as he wants. The point of even inviting him was that my phone number was on the invitation and I was hoping he’d call…
 
If you’re keeping up, so far I introduced my self and gave him my number just because I thought he was cute. It was up Albie to that point to call me and later come to my party. When I wanted him to kiss me he said no the first time and I thought that was ridiculous and made him anyway. (I’m pretty romantic, no?)
 
The real part of our love story didn’t happen until I had my wisdom teeth out over spring break that March and he came by almost everyday to sit on the couch with me, bring me smoothies, and watch movies with me. My hair was in constant state of terror/ top knot styling and I wore lounge clothes every time I saw him. My face was swollen and I was on pain meds. He came anyway and continued to call.
 
Eleven years later, he’s the one w0o-ing me on a daily basis and I still think he’s as cute as the day I saw him in high school.
 

Prom 2002

 
3. If married, how long have you been married? If not, is this the guy you hope to marry? {do tell}
 
We’ll celebrate our 3rd anniversary on May 1st this year.
 
4. If you are married, where did you get married at? Big or small wedding?  
 
We got married on a Friday night here in our hometown. The wedding was at a gorgeous Catholic church downtown and the reception was on the water at one of my favorite restaurants. We had a medium sized wedding and it was perfect – I tell him all the time I want to get married again. (More wedding information HERE)
 
 
5. Do you have any nick-names that you call one another? Do share!
 
Mostly I call him Beep and he calls me Stupid. He’s called me “stupid” since we first started dating and I think that was the first name I had in his phone. I call him beep because when I would holler up at him from another room or from far away with “babe” he thought it sounded like “beep”. Random nicknames I know.
 
6. Name 3 things you love most about your honey.
 
I love his loyalty, how well he takes care of his things, and his sincerity in wanting things for me, us and meal planning.
 
7. Tell us how he proposed? 
 
I wrote a whole post on the proposal HERE. It was pretty great.
 
I’d had a ton of rules (no holidays, not while I’m eating, must be a surprise, etc) and he managed to surprise me times a hundred. Long story short, it was a scavenger hunt that started at work and ended up at the beach (2 hours away) where it was written in the sand.
 
 
8. Is he a flowers and teddy bear kind of guy for v-day, or strawberries, champagne, and rose petals?
 
None of the above? I think he’d prefer to grill out and just spend time together. He would probably be pretty pumped for a good chocolate dessert.
 
9. Are you a sunset dinner on the beach kind of girl, or pop a movie in and relax on the couch?
 
Since I’m on the east coast the sun actually rises here, so no sunsets over the beach here! And as much as I love to walk on the beach, I think I like the movie/ couch night best.
 
10. Tell us one thing you’d like to do with your significant one day. If you could do anything? Go anywhere?
 
I want to keep traveling. No matter what hits the budget take and how plans get pushed back I want to go to Europe with him. I want him to fly over the ocean and climb the Eiffel Tower with me. I want to check off my travel list one place at time with him.
 
11. Tell us what you plan on doing on this Valentine’s Day.
 
I plan on eating leftovers and catching up on my hulu. Long distance marriages are romantic aren’t they ;)
 
12. Are you asking for anything this Valentine’s day?
 
I didn’t ask for anything but before he left to go back he did give me a card and some tulips that I can watch bloom :)
 
 
13. Give us one piece of advice of keeping a relationship strong and full of love.
 
I’d say to communicate honestly. Since we get very little actual face to face conversations big decisions are hashed out over gchat and the phone sometimes. Even though that’s not ideal as long as we are open and make the most of our chats we stay on the same page about most things and I think that’s really important.
 
14.  Show us a picture of what love means to you.
 
Despite the fact we look like nerds here and Finley’s head is cut off a bit, I love this picture because he had surprised me by coming in town to visit after a couple of weeks apart at the beginning of this long distance year.
 
4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2012 5:56 pm

    Too sweet! I love the high school photo of you guys!!

  2. February 15, 2012 8:54 pm

    What a sweet story! I love that you had on snakeskin pants–so so funny!!! :)

    • Katie permalink*
      February 16, 2012 9:59 am

      Haha I almost left that detail out but Albie still makes fun of me to this day about them. They were a muted snakeskin and actually really soft… but I felt super hot in them obviously. haha

  3. February 18, 2012 10:15 am

    I didn’t know you you guys were high school sweethearts! I love that!

Leave a Reply

