Skip to content

2012 Oscars…

February 28, 2012

This year I wasn’t planning on making a to-do about the Oscars. We had seen a decent amount of the nominees, but without weekly date nights to the movies we were a bit behind. Paid that with knowing Albie would have to leave pretty early in the morning to head back out of town made me not so pumped for my favorite awards show.

But my mom said she wanted to do some appetizers so I worked on a little themed menu based on the nominees.

I started with the list that I had printed out when the nominees were first announced. I’m that nerd who keeps this list in her purse to check things off and to help me act like a know-it-all when someone brings up a movie.

Last year I hosted a little Oscars/ Birthday party and asked everyone to bring a dish themed to a movie and it helped cover a ton of movies. With it just being Albie, my Mom and my self we had to be a bit more creative.

Pretty table waiting for the food!

The menu I came up with was:

I was pretty brave this time and used new recipes. Normally we have a rule that we don’t try new food on other people in case it’s terrible but this time I think it worked out really well!

This was my first attempt at making Baked Brie, which for someone who loves brie as much as I do, I’m surprised that I haven’t attempted it before. I used the recipe from Annie’s Eats for Baked Brie en Croute with apple compote . Y’all. This was SOO simple and SOO delicious.

Can you smell how good the apples and brie were together? I hope so, because otherwise this is totally unfair to be sharing with you:The other new recipe I tried was for Pulled Pork. We’ve been wanting to get to try a crock pot version of  some yummy vinegary barbecue but just haven’t had a reason to buy a 5 lb pork butt. Apparently the Oscars was just the occasion!

I didn’t use just one recipe mostly pulled from THIS recipe. I do not like traditional “BBQ Sauce”  so I’m pretty lucky that the style around here is “Eastern Style”, or a vinegar based barbecue. So not only did we cook it in vinegar but then the only sauce we put on it was vinegar based too. Pretty yummy if I say so my self:

I know the inside of the crock pot is not exactly appetizing but y’all, this was good barbecue!

I may try things differently next time because about 5 hours in the house still smelled like vinegar and I was nervous I’d ruin it so I added some sugar to balance it out a bit. We also didn’t really allow enough time before the show started. After the meat was pulled/ chopped up we wanted it to get back in the crock pot for some more flavor-getting time. Serving it with the Hawaiian rolls was obviously to tie in the movie, The Descendents, and we’d normally probably just use regular buns but the sweetness with the vinegar really played well together.

Aside from the food, I thought the awards were good too! We didn’t agree with all the winners like Leading actress but we did like Billy Crystal and some of the other aspects. I loved the dresses for the most part and am really glad we got out and saw The Artist beforehand. I am totally wishing we had seen Hugo though – who knew that would win so many awards!

What did y’all do for the Oscars?  Anyone else see any creative menus?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2012 9:13 am

    Happy birthday – what a fun celebration! I didn’t watch the Oscars because it was my dad’s bday… but if I had, I’d definitely want some of that baked brie with apple compote. Looks delicious!

  2. February 28, 2012 3:49 pm

    Awesome! So creative! I didn’t get a chance to watch the Oscars this year, but I heard Billy Crystal was back and did a great job. I usually just watch for the dresses, but now I want to watch and eat your food!! Looks amazing!

  3. February 28, 2012 9:09 pm

    Love your themed food! So creative!

  4. March 1, 2012 10:47 pm

    Love the themed food!! If the Oscars weren’t on a Sunday every year I would definitely throw a party.

Leave a Reply

