Skip to content

Springing Forward…

March 11, 2012

I feel like I’m always apologizing for not posting everyday on the blog. But I guess not posting for a week means I’m away from the computer so that’s a good thing right?

  • This past week has been pretty good! Spent time with Albie, weather is warmer and prettier and tress have started blooming again.  I really hate winter, despite the mild one we had, I’m still happy to see it go!
  • Albie had me start Lost this week after he started watching it last week.

Have y’all seen this?? So far so good, I heard it’s going to get confusing but I think I’m keeping up for now. I know I’m about 8 years late to the party on this, but the whole series is on Netflix and since we’re still without DVR I like having shows lined up.

  • Our NC State basketball team has been playing pretty well this season. While I will be the first person to tell you, I kinda hate basketball (can’t keep up/ too fast/ annoying calls/ hatred for our rivals makes me hate the game/ etc…) I have really enjoyed cheering them on through the ACC Tournament.

I used to go to every home game when I was a student and really enjoyed it so it’s weird for me to have not paid attention the last couple of years. I’m excited the team is back on a good track and finally earned a bid to the NCAA Tournament this year!! (Despite some of the WORST officiating I’ve ever seen on Saturday.)

  • And in final news, we’ve decided not to build the house we were under contract on.

    I’d insert a sad face here but I feel ok about it. We’d been having some second thoughts for a couple of weeks and then with meeting the builder last week we decided that this particular house just isn’t right for us. As much as I loved that house and the IDEA of the house, I am glad we came to the decision together and that we are moving on.

    So Monday we terminated the contract, got our money back and have already been out looking at new house options. Not a ton has been coming on the market, so I’m interested to see what we end up with. But either way, we’re excited to get moving along again.

Hope everyone is having a great day and had a great weekend despite the loss of an hour! I am actually ok to see this time change so we can have sunnier evenings!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2012 3:16 pm

    I LOVED the first season of lost and got really mad with where they took it so I stopped watching in the third season. You’ll have ot let me know what you think. Also, can I make a blog post request? I would love to hear your thoughts on how to buy a home and what tools you and Albie use in your housing search. Dan and I are tossing around the idea of buying and I feel very overwhelmed.

    • Katie permalink*
      March 12, 2012 3:36 pm

      Happy to do one! I know it varies by state but I’ll tell you what has and has not worked for us.

      Don’t feel overwhelmed though. It’s all in narrowing down what you want/ need/ and like. All very different things. I’ll work on the post for this week :)

      My mom quit at the same point you did! Interesting…. I’m intrigued with the show already for sure!

  2. March 12, 2012 6:08 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about the house, but you both know what’s best for you! The RIGHT home will come along…I just know it :) I posted the video today of our team finding out…love, love, love watching it!

  3. March 13, 2012 8:03 am

    Sorry the house didn’t work out Katie! We backed out of the first house we signed a contract on too! It’s funny how when it’s just not the right fit, you know and for us, losing that $500 was such a good decision in the end. I know you guys will have the same experience and find a house you like even more. We went walking in the old neighborhood last night to see what had changed/what houses were for sale, and thought about you guys as we walked past our old houses! Not much has changed…

  4. March 13, 2012 10:52 am

    I love that you’re watching Lost! Don’t be worried if you don’t understand it sometimes–I think it’s supposed to be that way! I had questions even after the series was finished!!

  5. March 13, 2012 11:14 am

    So many comments to make:

    No, I haven’t seen Lost. Do I need to?

    With you on the basketball thing, too. Color me confused.

    Sad about your house, but the hunt is half the fun good luck!

  6. March 14, 2012 5:25 pm

    Lost is one of my favorite shows of all time, BUT if you’re someone who has to have everything wrapped up, lower your expectations. Not everything gets explained. But I think the character development/ suspense/ story makes it totally worth it :)

Leave a Reply

