Skip to content

Baby Shower Inspiration…

June 4, 2012

Thank y’all so much for your awesome comments and messages about the new house!! Things are progressing really well and we are still shooting to close and move in this month!

That leads me to my next bit of insanity. I have decided to host my first shower. In August, less than 2 months after I supposedly move in I am going to be ready to host! I offered to throw my friend Amanda this shower a few months ago without knowing my living situation but I am so so excited that I’ll get to do it in my new house now!

I have been planning via Pinterest for a while now but with the shower date looming in August I figured I had better finalize my inspiration board and order some invites!

{ All Images via my Pinterest board for the shower }

What do we think? Too over the top PINK? Obviously my friend is a having a girl and with it being in the dead heat of summer I thought lemonade would be a good theme tie in. I’ve been collecting a few things here and there as I’ve seen sales and cute pink stripes but I think a lot wont unfold until I’m setting up and laying things out.

Somethings I’m hoping to tackle for the first time with this shower:

  • Ordering invites off Etsy and printing them locally
  • Making tissue paper poms
  • Finding enough seating in my house for gift time
  • Finding a good adult beverage/cocktail for us non-preggos

I think I have my menu set, with some simple light afternoon type food and obviously I’ll be serving pink lemonade along with the summery adult beverage. But are people going to expect a cake? Or can I get away with a cute dessert set up?

Besides my cake question, are people expecting games or can I get away with making it a bit more social and relaxed?

What other hostessing tips do you have for me?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2012 10:03 am

    I think this theme is so cute – definitely not over the top pink! But if you feel like you’re over the top on the pink, I think you could easily do a centerpiece (or several) with the cut lemons facing the outside of the vase – does that make sense? I’ve seen them in person and on Pinterest, and I think they’re super cute. Plus, the match your theme so well!

    We didn’t play games at my baby shower, and I was grateful. If your friend wants them, I’m sure there are some easy ones you can find (taste different baby foods and guess what they are), but otherwise, just be social!

    Also, cakes are always good, but a cute dessert set-up would be awesome! Way to go you for volunteering. Hosting a shower is hard work, but so much fun!

  2. June 9, 2012 12:13 pm

    I love the pink lemonade theme — feminine but not obnoxiously girly and perfect for a late summer get together. I don’t know much about this, but I would think a dessert set-up would be just as nice as cake. Ladies love little sweet nibbles!

  3. June 11, 2012 4:44 pm

    Love the theme! Sounds perfect! I don’t think a cake is necessary. Desserts are totally fine. And the fewer games, the better, in my opinion. :) I can’t wait to see photos of the shower! You’re going to do awesome! Isn’t Pinterest great for inspiration?!

  4. June 11, 2012 5:49 pm

    Little deserts sounds perfect. I’m pretty sure most people hate shower games, so getting to just come and relax and eat will probably be a nice change for people. This theme is so freaking cute!!!

  5. Kimberly permalink
    June 24, 2012 1:21 pm

    I am planning a pink lemonade birthday party for my daughter’s first birthday at the end of July and am looking forward to checking out your Pinterest board. The one game-like thing we did at my baby shower was have everyone there write down their predictions for weight, name etc. It is fun to look back at the funny things our friends wrote. Some memory-making activity might be fun to the parents to look back on later. Can’t wait to see how your shower turns out!

Trackbacks

  1. Yardwork and Party Planning… « Oui, Bien Sur!

Leave a Reply

