Skip to content

New Recipes…

July 17, 2012

This post could also be titled “Look how often I find new recipes off Pinterest” or ” OMG we consume a lot of recipes that have a cream sauce” but for now we’ll just break up the house posts a bit I had to share some deliriousness we’ve been trying lately:

  • Penne & Sun-Dried Tomato Cream Sauce

.

Source: verybestbaking.com via Katie on Pinterest

.

This was my first real attempt at eating sun-dried tomatoes. I am considering this a victory in the trying new things category even though it may not seem all that adventurous to y’all. This was also my first time cooking with evaporated milk, not sure what it adds that’s different then a heavy cream but it was good and the sauce was easy so I’m a fan.

We grilled some chicken the night before this recipes so it was easy to add in and make this more a full entree than just pasta.

  • Slow Cooker- Salsa Chicken

.

Source: millerfamilyorganizer.blogspot.com via Katie on Pinterest

.

This one we liked, and it made a lot of food, but for some reason I don’t remember being wow’ed by it. I think I feel this way with most “slow cooker” recipes though. I think maybe it’s because I feel the need to still stir and fuss over them.

This one made a lot of leftovers that I mostly sent back with the husband to eat throughout the week.

  • Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage & Tortellini Soup.

Source: alfrescoallnatural.com via Katie on Pinterest

.

This recipe had my interest peaked because my friend, Jenny, introduced me to tortellini and I liked them! But we make so.much.pasta. in our house that I wanted another way to eat it. We also don’t have a a big repertoire of soups. This was good… no leftovers to really  because I read the instructions wrong and we had to half it, so I can’t speak to how it re-heats. 

  • Parmesan Chicken Wings

.

Source: tasteofhome.com via Katie on Pinterest

.

Chicken wings had been on sale one week and despite the fact I don’t like “saucy” wings I thought we’d give them a try. Albie kept with a more traditional wing method but I went with these and dipped them in an embarrassing amount of ranch that was DELISH. I loved these and may be adding them to the menu plan again soon now that I’m looking at the picture again.

  • Bangin’ Grilled Shrimp Skewers

.

Source: skinnytaste.com via Katie on Pinterest

.

This recipe is from, gasp, a healthy website. I don’t find my self on websites helping me to make recipes have lower calories that often but this shrimp recipe was super yummy! We served this with rice and we doubled the sauce (thus, making it unhealthy) and they really were a non-fried version of the Bang Bang Shrimp. Yum!!

  • Stuffed Salmon with Sriracha Cream Sauce

.

Source: theboogieblog.net via Katie on Pinterest

.

We actually made this one over the weekend and it was really good, but the sauce is what made it. This sauce was a like a spicy “white sauce” and I think I could put on just about anything.

We did not end up “stuffing” the salmon since I read in the comments on the recipe that someone didn’t think it added much, so we did the full marinade and the sauce and I think we got the full effect.  Our salmon did come out a bit dry, but I can’t decide if that’s because we cooked it the full time and then broiled the top to toast the sesame seeds a bit more or if we had thin cuts of the fish.

Either way, this had a great flavor, but the sauce totally stole the show and I’m pumped I have so much left over to eat this week.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. emartinodonnell permalink
    July 17, 2012 11:27 am

    This all looks fantastic. My husband would love that sriracha sauce!

  2. July 17, 2012 4:50 pm

    i have that penne and sundried tomato cream sauce dish pinned as well it looks so good. plus the fact that i have sundried tomatoes in my pantry is even more reason why i need to make that dish soon

Leave a Reply

