Skip to content

A Letter to the Letter L …

June 9, 2010

Dear “L”,

I was not one of those new brides who drags her feet on getting her name legally changed. That was checked off my “post wedding to do list” within the week we returned home from St. Lucia.  But to be fair, I had been doodling  Katie Lange since I was 16 so it was time.

With that I have fully embraced my new middle of the alphabet standing. I know I wont be first name on an alphabetized roster anymore and I am ok with that.

L is a fun letter. In monograms it can get all swoopy and it’s fun to see it linked into other letters. Even more fun when it’s my own monogram used on wedding things:

Even Glee has embraced one of the negative connotations that you have; the Loser sign.

But it’s ok, because to me you stand for more than Loser and Lange (although those words are never in the same sentence of course), You start words like

But all of this aside recently you have disappointed me and I had to purchase something with the letter L on it that I have never had to do before.

I am not dwelling too much on this new use of you, letter L. But please know this: If this use of your beautiful letter becomes too frequent of an issue than I will be rebelling and acting out against you in the terms of crying and, god forbid, exercising.

I enjoy you being a big part of my life and my name but I refuse to let you be a descriptor of my size.

With Love Always,

Katie

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Becky permalink
    June 9, 2010 12:23 pm

    oh katie! you’re beautiful no matter what!!

  2. June 10, 2010 12:56 am

    L’s a great letter and I am glad you embraced your new last name!

  3. alicia permalink
    March 3, 2012 5:11 am

    soooooooooooo cool

  4. March 13, 2012 11:59 pm

    I have to say I’m a pretty big fan of the letter L and I’m glad you’re learning to love it. Great post, by the way; it’s very creative and sweet. :)

Leave a comment